Low-Calories, Low-Fat Hummus [vegan mofo, day 11]

The blog world seems to really love hummus. It is, after all, very delicious, healthful; makes for a perfect appetizer spread, condiment, or dip; and packs well for a snack or lunch on the go.

Snack to take to work! Low-cal hummus (recipe below), packed with cucumber, carrot sticks, and apple slices.

 However, if (like me) you find yourself eating hummus by the spoonful (with a very large spoon…), and (like me) find your digestive system protesting at the ingestion of buckets of beans, then you will certainly appreciate this recipe! It is also great for those looking to lose weight, given that it is lower in calories and fat than traditional hummus.

Hummus, tomato, and sprout sandwich on seed bread (gluten-free and raw) that I took home from work.

Low-Calorie, Low-Fat Hummus

Naturally vegan, gluten, soy, corn, and nut free.

1 1/2 cups cooked garbanzo beans (about one can– liquid drained, but not rinsed)
1 1/2 cups (give or take) steamed cauliflower
1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 tablespoon tahini OR two tablespoons ground sesame seeds
Optional: whole garlic cloves (I use 1-2)
Optional: salt and freshly cracked black pepper (I omit salt)

Dump all ingredients into a food processor or high-powered blender, and process until smooth. Adjust ingredients to taste– you may want less cauliflower or more tahini, if you are not accustomed to the lighter taste. Store in the fridge or freezer.

Makes about three cups

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s Question:

Do you find yourself ever eating something, and unable to stop?

For me, it happens with the weirdest things, like hummus, hot cereal (seriously!) and fruit. They are all just so yummy and easy going down the throat that you forget to check if you are full or not!

This entry was posted in oil-free, recipe, vegan mofo, vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Low-Calories, Low-Fat Hummus [vegan mofo, day 11]

  1. ooo i ike this recipe a lot!!!!!!! YES peanut butter!

  2. amber says:

    Oh my gosh! That sandwich is calling my name. that bread looks sooooo freakin good! and the hummus, so nice a creamy. hummus happens to be the thing that i cant stop eating. i can eat it any time of the day and i can pretty much eat a whole container in one sitting. so i love the idea of this low fat hummus. thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Stefanie says:

    Yummy! Hummus is my weakness. I can eat it all day and that is the problem. Like you, I eat with a big spoon.

  4. Great idea throwing in the cauliflower – I am definitely a “muncher” and will eat the portion in front of me. I have to portion-control myself. 🙂

  5. Mandee says:

    Firstly, your blog is lovely 🙂

    Secondly, this hummus looks delicious & I like that it includes cauliflower. I definitely find it hard to stop eating hummus or tahini on rice thins and grapes, I could eat bunches and bunches of green grapes!

  6. shea says:

    omg yes! as of now that would be cereal.

  7. Anna says:

    For a hummus lover, and one who can eat anything with hummus…a low-fat version is a treat. This is something I won’t miss out on…

  8. Pingback: Low-Calories, Low-Fat Hummus [vegan mofo, day 11] | | The Angelove

  9. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    I love hummus! I could definitly eat it by the spoonful as well. This looks like a great recipe too!

  10. Ecokat says:

    I want that bread!!! It looks soooo good. I’ll try adding the cauliflower to my hummus sounds interesting

  11. Starla says:

    Hummus is definitely one of those items I can’t stop eating if its in front of me. That bread looks yummy. Do you have a recipe for it or did you buy it somewhere in particular?

Leave a Reply

