Vegan Velveeta? [Vegan Mofo Day 3]

I have never eaten Velveeta before. Nor do I ever aspire to.

Why? Because I trust those who give me a grimacing look when I mention the ‘V’ word. I don’t need any more answer than that!

(Please) enter: my eco-friendly, animal-friendly, people-friendly version of  cheese sauce:

This sauce/spread thing is not Velveeta. (And between you and me, I actually had to research what velveeta was to write this post!) Nor is it cheese. (Well, it’s the Vegan Month of Food. So, um, duh?). My little sauce makes no attempt at being cheese, but fellow vegans (who ate cheese prior to their switch) know that we have this thing known as a “cheese button”.

Not only does this sauce hit that “cheese” button in you (<— even my dad admits it, and he eats non-vegan cheese), but it is low in calories, is highly nutritious, and gets you a serving or two of veggies! I mean, we are on a roll with the veggie spreads…. so you know that seeing orange cauliflower at the farmers markets got my neurons jiggling like crazy!

Vegan [Cauliflower] Cheese Sauce

I’m sure you can replace orange cauliflower with white,
if you don’t mind the color of the sauce being very pale.

½ head (approx. 4-5 loose cups) orange cauliflower, chopped
Up to 2 cups water, depending on desired consistency and dependency of your blender.
1 small tomato OR ¼ cup canned diced tomato
5 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1 ½ tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 tablespoon cashew butter (OR 2 tablespoons cashews, if you have a gung-ho blender)
½ teaspoon salt (or to taste)
½ teaspoon tamari OR soy sauce
¼ teaspoon ground tumeric
1/16 teaspoon ground ceyanne pepper
freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Optional: maca powder* (adds interesting flavor)

Chop the cauliflower and steam until soft. Drain the cooking water into a liquid measuring cup and top it off to get two cups. Add water as needed to allow your blender to process the cauliflower to a smooth consistency. The amount of water you use will give you anything from fondue, sauce, spread, and gel. Blend in remaining ingredients. Store leftover “cheese” in an airtight container in the fridge for up to five days.

Suggested uses: use as a spread in sandwiches or vegan burgers. Make mac ‘n’ cheese. Use as a salad dressing (highly recommended!). Use as a sauce for veggies, and much more. On October tenth, I’ll be featuring some of these uses for cheese sauce as a Vegan Mofo guest blogger on xgfx.org!

*I haven’t experimented enough with maca, which is an expensive powdered ‘superfood’ product, to vouch for a measurement. I used 4 teaspoons in my second test batch of cheese sauce, which was a bit too much. It worked much better the third time around as 1 teaspoon.

I have a new little feature I want to have after each recipe highlighting ways you can make a dish more eco-friendly. I need a cute name for it, so if you have any suggestions, leave ’em in the comments!

Ways to make Cauliflower Cheese Sauce more environmentally-friendly:

  • Buy cauliflower at the farmers market, and bring your own produce bag!
  • Buy your spices in bulk
  • Use in-season tomatoes (or can them when they are)
  • Make your own raw cashew butter (it’s delicious with everything!)
  • Store you cheese sauce in reusable glass jars, instead of plastic.
This entry was posted in no-bake, vegan mofo, vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Vegan Velveeta? [Vegan Mofo Day 3]

  1. Genius! I love making cheese sauces with veggies. It’s all about the color wheel. I’ll admit it, I ate quite a bit of Velveeta in my day, and I know someone who knows someone named Velveeta. And she’s not a stripper.

  2. This looks great! I’ve only recently discovered maca and have only had it as a beverage. Its use in a cheez sauce really intrigues me!

  3. Vanessa says:

    Wow! This is so creative! I must try it. I love cauliflower. =)

  4. bad1788 says:

    Wow! This looks amazing, I cannot imagine how great it would be on salads. I’ll be coming back to this one later.

  5. VERY CREATIVE!

    Going to try this. This is truly a unique way to make a veggie nut cheese. Love it, Love it, Love it…

    Sharing Now

  6. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    I used to love velveeta when I was little. I shudder thinking about it now, lol. This sauce looks so good! I’ve seen orange cauliflower around a lot, but never bought it. This sauce looks so good though, I might just have to go buy some!

  7. Julie Lynn says:

    Fabulous! What a brilliant idea!

  8. Emily Segal says:

    Orange cauliflower is pretty dang fabulous looking! Good job.

  9. Emily says:

    I’m always on the hunt for a yummy cheeze sauce and this one looks AMAZING. I love that cauliflower gets a chance in the spotlight as it’s one of my favorite veggies.

  10. KT says:

    Wow this is so creative! I want to try it. What sort of flavor does the maca powder add?

    • VEGirl says:

      Maca has a sort of earthy taste– to me, when I smell it, it reminds me of that cheap Parmesan on pizza joint tables (lol). For me, it rounds out the flavor and takes away any possible trace of wateriness. Hope that helps!

  11. Micah says:

    This looks amazing, I can’t wait to try it. I love sneaky uses for vegetables!

  12. Pingback: VEGirl’s Mac & Cauliflower Cheese

  13. Pingback: Way too Much to Do Wednesday Wrap-up! | Manifest Vegan

  14. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    WOW, totally brilliant. Never thought to put cauliflower in cheeze before! Luvit.

  15. Pingback: Recipes by juxtaposedpink - Pearltrees

  16. You intend to learn dressage using – the set series of motions done by dressage riders.

Leave a Reply

