Sneaky Vegetables

You’ve heard of apple butter. You’ve probably heard of pumpkin butter. Heck, you may have even heard of mango butter.

But did you know that a creamy, versatile spread can be more than delicious, but pack in the nutrition of vegetables?

It’s called carrot butter.

Want some?

Carrot butter

  • The method is quite simple– just cook some carrots to soft perfection, and blend with the least amount of water needed to make the machine process! No need to cook down, as the flavor is good on it’s own (if you want to concentrate the flavor more, however, feel free).
  • The flavor and intensity of your carrot butter will all depend on the quality of your carrots. Last year, my mom canned quarts upon quarts of carrot butter from baby carrots out of our garden. Incredible!

  • You can add a sweetener is you desire– to me it doesn’t need it, say for a shake of stevia, but agave, brown sugar, molasses, and the like are all options that will impart their unique flavor.Ā  You could add any number of add-ins– such as chocolate chips, raisins, or nuts.
  • Carrot butter could easily be called carrotsauce– as it makes an excellent replacement for applesauce. I love to eat applesauce bowls (my vegan version of the bloggie famous yogurt messes)– topped with anything from chocolate, nuts, peanut butter, oats, fresh fruit, dried fruit (raisins!), etc..
  • You may want to can the goodness– the process of sealing the carrot butter into a sterilized jar will make having a quick spread for toast or a sandwich, a topping for oats or hot cereal, or anything else your creative mind can think up.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s Question:

Do you “sneak” vegetables into your daily diet?

When I was little, my mom would put seaweed powder into our homemade bread without our knowledge to increase the nutrition! Although it isn’t “sneaky” anymore– I now add the dried seaweed to food to contribute good flavor and nutrition. I remember when she first told me. I stopped mid-bite and looked at her in horror šŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in nutritional info, recipe, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sneaky Vegetables

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    Yum this looks so good! I would have never thought to make a vegetable butter… and the color is amazing!

  2. Of course! It seems so obvious now, but I never considered carrot butter before! I’d love to spice it up and make a “carrot cake” version. šŸ˜‰

  3. I truly have never had carrot butter, but carrots are of of my truly loved veggies, raw, cooked, and I just know I’ll love it as a butter too.

  4. Pingback: Kabocha Butter [Vegan MoFo Day 1] |

  5. Pingback: Vegan Velveeta? [Vegan Mofo Day 3] |

Leave a Reply

