Not yo’ Ordinary Grapes

Do you like grapes?


Because I don’t! Those overly-sweet California orbs at the grocery store have never appealed to me as much as, say… a banana. Or a nectarine. (Mmm…. I love me some nectarines!)

When we moved to Michigan two and half months ago (I can’t believe it’s been that long already!), we discovered some grape vines in our backyard. Yesterday, when I noticed they seemed ripe, I ate some to discover that they are very sour (my sister officially hates them ;)).

However, I appear have alien tastespuds, since the sourness and crunch of the hulking seeds just appeal to me.

They were begging to be popped into a recipe– and since I am the pancake queen, what is more fitting than grape pancakes? (With peanut butter on top, naturally!)

Grape Pancakes

Gluten-free, vegan, oil-free, corn-free,
soy-free (if using water or non-soy milk), sugar-free (if using stevia)

The texture of these pancakes have not explored all their possibilities, given that when I made this recipe I only had one flour left on hand! But they are very good, considering the limiting circumstances– let the grapes shine and do the work.

¼ cup fresh-off-the-vines grapes
Stevia (or other sweetener) to taste
Sprinkle of salt
¼ cup non-dairy milk, water, or a mixture of both
¼ cup brown rice flour
⅛ teaspoon potato flour (you may be able to omit)
1/16 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon vinegar

Begin heating a griddle or pan over medium heat. Lightly mash the grapes as best as you can without splattering yourself too bad! Incorporate a sprinkle of salt to get the juices flowing, and stevia (or other sweetener) to taste.

Add milk/water to grape mixture, then mix in dry ingredients. When your pan is hot, lightly rub it with oil and mix vinegar into the batter to activate the baking soda. Cook pancakes evenly on both sides, and serve with your choice of topping (syrup, fruit, applesauce, nut butter, etc.)

Makes one small serving (if you like bigger meals, you may wish to double this).

Printable Recipe

I topped my pancakes with a peanut butter spread, made with leftover hot cereal, stevia, non-dairy milk, and peanut butter— that way it didn’t stick to the roof of my mouth, but was a creamy, delicious accompaniment!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s Question:

Does any fruit grow in your backyard?

When I was four, we rented a house that had a little orchard attached, but we were not allowed to harvest the fruit. However, my four year old self didn’t quite understand and was caught on more than one occasion with a peach in her hands ;).

This entry was posted in nut butter, oil-free, recipe, sugar-free and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not yo’ Ordinary Grapes

  1. OMG i had thoe kind of grapes in italy once on a vineyard! INCREDIBLE

  2. Stefanie says:

    I like sour fruits too. Some times I’ll eat the left over flesh from the lemon/lime if I need the juice. My favorite fruits are apples and grapes though so I do like sweet fruits too.

    Right now I have some orange trees, lemon trees, and an apple tree in my back yard. Only the orange tree has produced any fruit. I’m hopeing to grow apples even though I’m in Florida. We’ll see how that goes. 🙂

  3. Karine says:

    I LOVE this kind of grapes too! My neighbor has a big grape vine, but he never harvest the grapes, so when I was a kind, I used to steal a big bunch. :S (Seem that I’m the only one in my family to like them though…)

  4. What an interesting recipe! Love how they turn purple!

Leave a Reply

