True Veggie Straws!

Those who have a food dryer know the Ima-try-and-dry-everything-cause-it-seems-like-a-good-idea syndrome.

For instance, my ooh-I’m-brilliant idea of drying green onion stalks….didn’t work out too well. Most rotted before drying entirely :(. However, the ones that did crisp well were delicious!

I can’t actually take credit for this wonderful drying discovery– I think it was my mom who first tried putting broccoli in the food dryer. When it came out, she excitedly handed me a piece.

Oh. my. goodness.

You know those veggie straws?

Um, yeah. These are way better (not to mention healthier!). (Veggie straws are…. weird).

When I get broccoli in my free veg box, I dry it. That way it doesn’t matter if it is starting to flower– tastes just as delicious!

Dried broccoli

This is so simple you hardly need a recipe. However, there are few things you should know before eagerly stuffing broccoli into the food dryer!

  • You must blanch the broccoli before drying it– I am told will otherwise turn into a degrading “broccoli fart” . I wouldn’t want to risk it.
  • If desired, season and/or oil the broccoli before drying it. I am too infatuated with it plain at the moment to consider much else, but there are endless possibilities once I tire of it plain. (Hellooooo BBQ nuggets!).
  • While in the food dryer, each floret and piece of stalk will dry at a different rate. Check your dryer frequently so as not to burn your nuggets. But a few tan/brown ones are inevitable (you can probably see them in the above pictures!).
  • Store your dried broccoli in an airtight container, and make sure they are all dried before storing– one wet piece will infect the rest with moisture and spoil the batch over time.
  • Serving suggestions: eat as crunchy nuggets, with ketchup and mustard for the full “American” effect (because every kid grew up on dried broccoli?). Add it to trail mix (homemade or store-bought) for a nutrition boost. Or rehydrate in dishes for instant broccoli, such as soups, stews, and stir-fries!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s Question:

Have you ever eaten veggie straws?

I have seen them at parties, and whenever I try one I am reminded of my disdain for them. Yuck!

This entry was posted in suggested uses, Uncategorized, vegetables and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to True Veggie Straws!

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    I love veggie straws, and I’m really intrigued to try your dried broccoli. I’ve seen dehydrated veggie chips at stores and stuff, but never broccoli. It looks really good!

Leave a Reply

