What Would A Truly Eco-Friendly Diet Be?

Have you ever stopped and wondered what the world would be like if things were different?

What would the world be like if we didn’t kill other humans?

What would the world be like if we had no heart for killing animals?

What would the world be like if we took only what we needed?

What would the world be like if we treated those who provided our food, shelter, and items with respect and fair wages?

What would the world be like if we all considered our choices, and chose those that would most benefit, as opposed to least harm, the environment?

Think about it folks: what would a truly eco-friendly diet look like?

I myself have been grappling with this issue, and how it relates to the format I want “Adventures of VEgirl” to take. I have been absent from my little corner of the web– because I myself don’t even know what a truly eco-friendly diet would necessarily look like! I know the habits that I have personally changed in my own quest– eating minimal packaged foods, choosing whole foods, eating vegan. I know I can go farther. How do I want to present this lifestyle on the blog? Do I want only recipe posts? Only “tip” posts? Only diet or should I address the other issues of environmentalism? Do I want to talk about the problems or the solutions?

So many questions, which built into days of thinking. Put that on top of my daily obligations and my new work schedule and I have just been busy!

I thought, then, I should perhaps ask you all.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s Question:

What would an eco-friendly diet seem to be, to you?

What aspects of an eco-friendly diet/lifestyle do you want to read about?

(And please, I don’t want to hear “it’s your blog and you write what you want”. I want to hear what would motivate YOU to think about environmental problems and solutions!).

This entry was posted in Blog related. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Would A Truly Eco-Friendly Diet Be?

  1. Stephanie says:

    IMHO, you need to talk about both the problems and the solutions. If you just tell people the problems and not the solutions, they’ll get overwhelmed and/or depressed when they think about it, and will just avoid it altogether. If you don’t tell them about the problems, they won’t have any reason to listen to the solutions. Why bother trying to fix something if you don’t see it’s broken?
    Also, ALL ASPECTS PLEASE AND THANK YOU. (Pseudo) environmentalists who eat meat, wear leather (or polyester because it’s “more eco-friendly” – say whaaaaat?) but ride their bikes to work because they want to “save the planet” infuriate me. Uninformed (or misinformed) or ignorant? Is it truly blissful to be blissfully unaware? Because, I mean, we can’t stay asleep forever, so it’s just going to be more painful and harder to come to terms with things when we wake up.

  2. Heather says:

    I think an ecofriendly diet would be organic with minimal processing. One thing that bugs me about a lot of veg blos is the reliance on overprocessed ‘fake meats.’

Leave a Reply

