The Perks of Being an Early Riser…

…Is that you go to bed early. (Okay, where is she going with these?).

Because having a family full of night owls, they will do the “indulgent” cooking later in the evening, generally when I am getting drowsy. That means that I wake up to all sorts of goodies… on occasion I have risen to a bowl of french fries in the fridge, chocolate pudding cake, and the other day, I was delighted to see the end result of the cookie dough I saw them mixing as I had gone to bed the night before.

Naturally, a cookie for breakfast was in order ;).

Cookie eating with no work involved? Yes please! Eaten with a melon smoothie (just blended cantaloupe– latest obsession!).

And to think, only months ago, I wouldn’t have felt comfortable eating something with oil and sugar at breakfast.

Or for any meal (or snack), for that matter. I am so proud of myself for feeling the freedom to indulge!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s question:

Are you an early riser?

Does your family have different eating habits than you?

My whole family actually eats quite healthy, but they do enjoy making homemade fried food and sugary/oily desserts on occasion. They often wait for evening when I have prior engagements to make them, and I just can’t resist (not that I have to resist!) from having a portion if they leave any leftovers! Besides, why shouldn’t I treat myself?

This entry was posted in breakfast, cookies, fruit. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Perks of Being an Early Riser…

  1. That cookie looks delicious, but I’m gonna have to say that the freedom that comes along with it is even better πŸ˜€ I remember the days where I used to deny myself all sorts of wonderful things and ugh… I never want to go back to that. I’m really happy for you, girl πŸ™‚

    I do eat quite differently from my family. They eat healthy, but my parents are both Polish so they eat a lot of heavier foods that I’m not really fond of. And I’m most certainly an early riser. I always wake up around 5:30 no matter what time I go to sleep. I have a love hate relationship with it lol.

  2. I used to be an early bird… But now I have trouble falling asleep, and since I work from home, there’s no need for me to scrape myself out of bed first thing in the morning. I tend to start the day more around 8 or 9 lately.

  3. Ayla says:

    That cookie is making me want a cookie!. Chocolate chips in anything = my favorite.

    I’m kind of an early riser and I suppose compared to most people, I am. My day typically starts around 6-7:30am. Sometimes 8-8:30. It all depends on how early I went to bed the night before. I LOVE getting up early though so I’m going to try and start going to bed earlier (9:30) so that I’m sleeping by 10-10:30pm.

  4. Stephanie says:

    Mmm yummy πŸ™‚ I have to try that blended melon thing. It looks so good! I love your straw too.

  5. Maxwell@FreedomRunning says:

    I try to go to sleep early in the summer but when school rolls around I am usually up studying for a test or catching up on reading. But I still get up at 5:30 to 6:00 everyday! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

