Gluten-Free Vegan Light and Moist Pancakes

Note: this is the guest post that was featured on the gluten-free vegan community, xgfx, the other day.

~~~~~~~

I love pancakes. To say I have an obsession would be an understatement. It’s more like an obsessed obsession.

Did that make any sense?

I am forever experimenting with every possible variety and variation of pancakes I can think of—with different ingredients and flour combos, I’ve done banana herb pancakes, chocolate pancakes, and cookie dough pancakes (eek!). Another brilliant discovery was the savory pancake—perfect for a veggie sandwich, or a classic pb&j.

But whether or not you go the traditional margarine and syrup route or aim for a more gourmet twist, these pancakes can fit the bill. What with their ever so slight sweetness and multi-purpose crumb, they are like a healthier, more whole-food version of a normal white-flour pancake, utilizing tapioca starch for a fluffier texture. It’s a great way to sneak that bean and whole grain goodness into your family– and might I recommend mixing some berries or chocolate chips into the batter?

You won’t be disappointed.

Light and Moist Gluten-Free Vegan Pancakes

2 cups garbanzo bean flour
½ cup tapioca or arrowroot starch
½ cup brown rice flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
Optional: sweetener (stevia, sugar, agave, etc.)

 1 ½ – 2 cups water, more if needed
½ cup applesauce (someone said canola could be subbed successfully)
1 tablespoon vinegar

 Optional add-ins: dried fruit, chocolate chips, berries, nuts, etc.

Begin heating one or more cooking pans over low to medium heat. Meanwhile, whisk together the garbanzo, arrowroot/tapioca, and rice flour, in addition to the baking soda and optional sweetener. Combine dry together well, then incorporate the water—the more water, the thinner the pancake. Add optional add-ins to this almost-completed batter.

Depending on what pan you use, grease the pan if you wish. Just before cooking, stir the vinegar into the batter to activate the baking soda’s leavening properties. Ladle approximately a ¼ cup (more or less depending on you desired pancake size), and allow the heat to make bubbles form throughout the pancake. Flip and cook through on the other side. I can’t give a definite time for each side to be cooked, since different sizes and thickness determine that. Check the middle of the pancake for the first few to get the feel for your particular batch.

Serving and storage:

Great served hot plain or with sides and toppings (nut butter is highly recommended). Leftovers can be stored at room temperature for up to a day, and any leftovers put in the freezer inside an airtight bag or container. These can be made ahead and frozen, to be toasted or microwave for quick breakfasts!

Printable recipe

This entry was posted in recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gluten-Free Vegan Light and Moist Pancakes

  1. 😯 Those pancakes look deeee-licious. So light and fluffy! And I actually have all of those ingredients too (you know you’re a foodie when…). I’ve never thought about using chickpea flour in pancakes, or arrowroot for that matter. It’s been ages since I’ve made pancakes, but I’ll be bookmarking this recipe for when they craving strikes!

  2. Ma Ma Megan says:

    I love pancakes. I eat them at least 2-3 times a week. Mostly for lunch, hah. that’s when the craving seems to hit 😛

  3. ninufar says:

    Thanks VEGirl, these are easy and yummy! (plus I can eat them!)

    I think my (short) review of these will go up on Book of Yum, and I say “I think” bc I’m not 100% sure I met the deadline correctly, but I wanted to try these & I’d never before “adopted” a gluten-free blogger. I’m really glad I tried these.

    As I work through the leftovers, I notice I like the ones that got cooked on medium better than the ones I started with. Also, my chickpea flour is terribly lumpy, even after heavy-duty treatment w/a wire whisk, so I might try soaking it first and just mixing the baking soda into the rice flour & starch before combining everything. Hmmm…

    But that’s just refinements. These worked out *great* on the first try, w/o the optional sweeteners. I used spray-on olive oil on a nonstick pan, that worked well. (I also used a cast-iron pan which was a little trickier.)

    Favorite serving suggestions so far:
    1. top with more applesauce!!!
    2. serve w/lentil soup
    3. heat ‘n eat plain

  4. Pingback: Adopt a Gluten-free Blogger September Roundup 2011 | Book of Yum

  5. ninufar says:

    Hey, cool, there’s the pingback with my review (and pics).

    Just wanted to confirm that combining the chick pea flour and water ahead of time (w/thorough whisking) leads to fluffier but slightly harder to flip pancakes.

    Amaranth fl works in place of the brn rice flour, too.

    Best wishes with your next adventure!

Leave a Reply

