(R)ice Cold Cereal

Oh my pod!

I start my new job today. (Ahhhh! :eek:)

With simultaneous swells of joy at being able to work in my dream vegan cafe, and interrupting pounds of nerves, I just hope I don’t collapse on my first day of the job from the colliding emotions.

Kidding…. I’ll be cool as a cucumber on duty. They won’t know that I feel happier than a peanut-allergic kid in a peanut-free nut butter shop. Stay cool, stay cool, stay cool….

*EDIT: I found out I won’t be going for my first shift until the 29th– I got a call from the owner/manager who is on vacation, and for reasons I won’t disclose here she said she didn’t want me in until she got back and sorted out the problem*

8)

(Does anyone else just love using new smileys?)

Speaking of staying cool, I have a new “recipe” (or at least a half-assed attempt at one) for you today.

You know how I love hot cereal? I was chowing on it all through the 90 degree weather, but as it’s been cooler lately, the craving has just gone away. 😯 (<— me love smileys!). Apparently my body would like to savor the sensation of being even ever so slightly chilly and doesn’t want to bother with the boiled stuff?

In any case, when there was leftover rice in the fridge I remembered a trick I used to employ in summers past:

Cold Rice Cereal

Blending up the rice for a col “hot” cereal works even with a crappy blender (as I have), but it would be super silky if you used a vitmax, I bet. Also, you can do this with hot rice, too!

Cold Rice Cereal:

(These are just guidelines, as measurements for every persons dietary requiments are different!)

  • Cold or hot rice (I use leftover brown rice)
  • Optional: fruit (adds texture and flav0r– try cantaloupe, peaches, banana, berries, etc.)
  • Optional add-ins: cocoa powder, cinnamon, stevia (or other sweetener), nutmeg, etc.)
  • Toppings: nuts, dried fruit, more fresh fruit, chocolate (!), oats, non-dairy milk, etc.

Method: put your rice and optional fruit and add-ins in into a blender and blend, adding enough water (or non-dairy milk), until your desired texture is achieved (anywhere from chunky and chewy to smooth and silky). Transfer to a bowl and top with your choice of treats.

Flavor ideas (I’ve starred the ones I’ve tried):

  • Cantaloupe cinnamon (use cantaloupe as fruit and cinnamon as add-in)*
  • Banana chocolate (use banana and cocoa powder)
  • Peach cobbler (Peach, sweetener, cinnamon)*
  • Strawberry cream (Use strawberries and top with coconut milk)
  • Berry medley (blend in every berry your can think of, top with chocolate :D)

This recipe is so easy, hydrating, filling…. but don’t forget to clean the blender. It’s the worst part. πŸ˜•

~~~~~~~~

What are your favorite summer breakfasts?

Goodness, I can’t name just one! Lately, I’ve pretty proud of myself for incorporating (And loving) a bit of variety– I love it when my eating habits shift a bit, it’s like that new and fresh feeling you get when you rearrange the furniture!

This entry was posted in breakfast, cereal, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to (R)ice Cold Cereal

  1. Like a peanut-allergic kid in a peanut free nut butter shop?! Now that’s happiness! I always give out a little squeak of excitement when I see something that says “peanut free” on the label. Darned allergies. I’m sure your job will be great, girlie. Don’t fret πŸ˜€

    As for summer breakfasts…. erm… my favorite breakfast doesn’t really change whether it’s summer or winter. It’s always oatmeal, the only thing I do is vary up the toppings every now and then.

  2. Excited much? πŸ˜‰ If you are this enthusiastic and you haven’t even started working, I can’t imagine the bundle of energy you will become on your first day! Isn’t that what bosses look for in employees? Enthusiasm about their job? If so, I would say you may possibly be the best choice for their business. πŸ™‚

    Your cold rice reminds me of rice porridge. I tried fixing the rice porridge and that ended in a…well, a fail. This looks a lot easier! You created my breakfast for tomorrow. Sincere thanks due to you. πŸ™‚

    PS. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰ 😦 ❀ smileys πŸ˜€

  3. Kelsey says:

    WAY TOO TEMPTING!! oh this looks wonderful.. mm banana chocolate would be so good too!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

