All in a good [three] day’s work

Some pretty amazing things happened this weekend. Let’s get right to it, shall we?

Forty-mile bike ride through Detroit (in a biking group).

Blogger meet-up with the super-sweet, kind-hearted, and insightful Mandiee! Check out her blog, it’s filled with the most delicious food!

[I officially failed as a photographer by actually FORGETTING my camera. Mandiee’s Point and shoot to the rescue!]

AND…….

I got a job. Like, a real job. 

A few  minutes after I left the fair that hosted the above bike event, my parents talked to the owner who was managing a booth for a nearby all-natural vegan cafe. They found out she was hiring, and she found out my parents had a teenage daughter looking for a job. I called, got an interview for Monday, and after getting all the nonsensical teenage work permit paperwork filled out (a headache if ever there was one), BOOM! I have officially have a dream job working in a “make everything from scratch” vegan cafe starting Friday.

Excuse while I scream some more (in Amanda fashion, naturally)

EEEEeeeeEEEEEEE πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

~~~~~~~~~~~

Things are looking up.

I’ve made it pretty obvious on the blog that I had been rather downcast about our recent move to the Detroit metro area. However, among other recent events (like the peace walk), this weekend showed me that city living can have it’s benefits– where else would I make a friend who is a vegan blogger and become an employee at my favorite cafe?

Things are definitely looking up (my finance situation included), and I think I am truly starting to understand the phrase, “make the best of every situation”.

~~~~~~~

Important question: I want to hear your thoughts on what posts you enjoy!

Photography posts? Recipe posts? Animal posts? (Fill in the blank) posts? In the past, I have tried not to put “personal” events on the blog. I guess I always thought it was boring to people? Lately, however, has been more “life” than kitchen creating.

This entry was posted in biking, Blog related, cafe, recap, work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All in a good [three] day’s work

  1. EeeeEEEeeeE! I’m excited for you girl! Congrats on the job πŸ˜€ That definitely sounds like an awesome one. I’ve always kinda secretly wanted to work in either a coffee shop or some kind of vegan bakery. I just love the atmosphere and the whole working with food, but. I can’t wait to hear about how it goes for ya πŸ˜€ And as for posts… I guess I like a mix of everything… food and life with pretty pics thrown in πŸ™‚

  2. Ayla says:

    Just found your blog but I’m excited for you too! I’m glad things are working out for you in your new city, it’s always hard adjusting to new situations but it looks like you’re doing just fine! I’m actually really jealous that you get to work in a vegan cafe, that would be a dream job for me (well, until I get to be a dietitian!). Unfortunately I live in a small town with nothing like that around here. And soon I’ll be moving to PEI for university and I don’t think it’s super vegan friendly over on that side of Canada. Guess I’ll just have to change that. πŸ˜‰

  3. Maxwell@FreedomRunning says:

    Yay for a job! That is an amazing fit for you too! It sounds like an amazing place to work at. πŸ˜€
    I like hearing about your life and I enjoy your food/ photography posts too. I am all in for whatever you post. It is your blog. Do what you want with it πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Winning Combo: Corn and Raspberries |

Leave a Reply

