Vinny the Peace Rat

Vinny, the love of my life, is a rat who is an accomplished humanitarian. His career began with a girl who, at the time, was suffering from an eating disorder and symptoms of depression. This same girl, having made a remarkable leap in well-being over the course of the last seven months, decided to participate in a peace walk— and was graciously welcomed onto the team as the photographer.

In case you haven’t figured it out, that girl is me :). Now Vinny’s humanitarian track record can include being a participant in part of a peace walk!

(Yes, you read that right.)

Remember that nifty rattie backpack? Vinny is getting old, and I want to spend all of his last days together– so I brought him to a few days of the walking! And you know what? Everyone loved him (even the one who had a previous rat phobia!)

In fact, he joined us at the capitol today… on my back… as I was photographing my eyes out! Many people approached me (including another photographer, for a newspaper!) and all loved him– Vinny, “The Peace Rat.”

One of the lovely peace walker ladies made me him a little rat sized version of our florescent lime t-shirts!

Vinny on the capitol steps

[PS: The peace walk has officially ended! If you would like to catch up on the two updates I managed to post, here and here. And now I can get back to my usual posting!]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vinny the Peace Rat

  1. Stefanie says:

    That is neat you got to bring Vinny along. It is a nice way to spend time with your lovely rat man.

  2. Awww! He looks so cute in his peace shirt! It is cool that you got to bring him along and put him on your back. That would have been a sight to see 🙂

  3. Awwwr that’s the sweetest thing! I love his little peace tee, and I think it’s awesome that you bring him along everywhere to spend so much time with him 😀

  4. Stephanie says:

    OH he is SO cute in that little tee! Love it! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Busy Bee to Be |

Leave a Reply

