5-Second Chocolate Sauce (or Pudding)

This is great with a blob of nut butter smothered into it!

We all know I love unsweetened chocolate. When I run out, as was the case last week, I decided to try and make a suitable replacement. It is not like my beloved bitter bars, but it’s good! I ended up making an any-time sort of chocolate sauce!

Actually, it’s rather like a 5-second pudding, if you use less water.

With my other pudding (linked above), and it’s quick preparation I love. The chilling process? Not so much. I can be rather… impatient.

My new creation though? It’s got a whopping three ingredients (including the water!) and takes all of 5-seconds to make. Then you can then add oil to make it richer, sweeten it up with sugar, stevia, agave, maple syrup, anything you want.

And frankly, I better get used to this new chocolate recipe since I am pinching my pennies now. Gotta save, and gotta get a job!

5-Second Chocolate Sauce/Pudding

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/16 teaspoon guar gum
2-4 tablespoons water

optional: sweetner (agave, stevia, sugar, etc.)
optional: oil (coconut oil, olive oil, etc.–adds richness and if you use a solid oil, it might make frosting!)

Whisk everything together in a bowl with a wire whisk or fork until smooth. Give the guar gum at least least 25 seconds or so to thicken. If the consistency is not how you want it then, adjust water and guar gum accordingly (water to thin, guar gum to thicken). If desired, add your choice sweetener and optional oil. If you use less water, a pudding consistency will be achieved, where as using more amounts to a sauce.

~~~~~~~

Highly recommended: eating this straight with a spoon topped with almond butter or peanut butter. Swoon on a spoon. Oooh!….. And I bet it would be an excellent dipping sauce for fruit and nuts, too! The possibilities are endless.

This entry was posted in almond butter, chocolate, no-bake, nut butter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 5-Second Chocolate Sauce (or Pudding)

  1. Haha I know what you mean about being impatient waiting for things to chill. I tend to suck at planning ahead, so anything that requires time to sit is pretty much beyond me. But this chocolate sauce looks fantastic. I do the same thing… mixing cocoa powder with water or almond milk, but I’ve never tried adding and gums because they don’t sit well with my stomach.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Ooh yum. I have a two ingredient chocolate/carob sauce: brown rice syrup + cocoa or carob powder to taste. It gets soo wonderfully thick. I love it 😀

  3. This sounds great – I would probably put it over my bowls of oat bran! Do you think it would work with xanthum gum as the thickening agent?

    • VEGirl says:

      I think that xanthum gum would work just fine– in general, you have to double or triple the amount to get the same results as guar gum. Start with the 1/4 teaspoon, and go from there. Good luck!

  4. Maxwell says:

    I am going to try this on my oatmeal tomorrow morning! I usually use chocolate chips, but this seems like a great healthier alternative.

  5. Healthy Hot and Happy says:

    Oh my. I think I just found my new favorite blog… That looks delicious and is so easy!

  6. adaraj says:

    Mmm… Dark chocolate! I only pick the 85% or more dark when I get lindt, it tastes best to me, and my family isn’t tempted to steal half of it on me! 😉

    • VEGirl says:

      haha! That was the case with my unsweetened chocolate bars, until my sister found she had a taste for it. Now she asks me if she can have some– although she is really careful about… she knows how touchy I am when it comes to chocolate 😉

  7. Pingback: Quarts of (Banana) Ice Cream? |

Leave a Reply

