Unschooling, Simplified

I have blog readers and people in my day-to-day life ask me about my homeschooling. When they find out I follow this strange sounding style of learning called “unschooling”, their curiosity is peaked.

I’ve talked about my unschooling and school history on this blog before, but looking back, it all seems so complicated to the reader.

Why? Because unschooling doesn’t follow the “do this, not that” mindset. Is it the idea that children are the only teacher they need.

I am my teacher. I taught myself photography. I taught myself to cook. I taught myself how to be vegan. I taught myself nutrition. I taught myself how to write. I taught myself about rats (okay, the rats taught me that one). I am teaching myself how to have peace and patience.

I could have enlisted teachers for all those…. or gone to school and learned about cookie-cutter math, art, and science. But where would that have gotten me? By teaching myself, I have proved to other, and most importantly myself, that I am capable of following my passions and finding my way in this messed up world we live in.

What we don’t need are “teachers”, in the common sense, but people. People who lead by example, who volunteer their information. People whom from we can learn.

For photography, I watched Hannah Kaminsky.

For veganism, I relied on books (who were written by people volunteering their knowledge).

For cooking, I watched cooking shows and picked up countless cookbooks for inspiration.

For writing, I read. I had one english teacher in 7th grade, however, that was not a “teacher” in the traditional sense. He truly was a person who volunteered his love and knowledge of writing, and I learned a great deal from him!

Unschooling does not mean you have to learn alone– it means you can choose the person you learn from. It means that you have the confidence to know that often, you are that person!

It saddens me to no end that kids and teens everywhere put their knowledge and lives in the hands of people who are in a system of low-pay and status, and suffer for it.

I greatly admire the people who teach community classes about their passions, and the people who live their passions and inspire others to do the same.

I aspire to lead by example. What do you aspire to?

This entry was posted in homeschooling, unschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Unschooling, Simplified

  1. I definitely think that our schooling system is flawed, but at the same time you have to remember that not everyone would be willing or motivated enough to teach themselves. Some people just aren’t interested, and if they didn’t have to go to school, what else would they do? People learn in different ways, and different things work for everyone. It’s awesome that you found what works best for you because I think you’ll benefit the most from that kind of education, but it probably wouldn’t be for everyone.

  2. Maxwell says:

    Ah! I totally agree with taking advantage of opportunities to be your own teacher! Or seeking out “teachers”! But there are some people aren’t able to teach themselves because of lack of motivation, different learning styles, ect. I personally learn the same way you do, but I have to school too. I am usually working ahead of the teacher and then have to teach the kids around me when don’t understand what is going on. I really admire and get along with other people who have the ability to teach themselves and love to learn, and then lead others with their knowledge.

  3. Maxwell says:

    By the way, You won the Coconut Peanut Butter giveaway for Moves and Munchies! Tu as la chance 🙂 Congratulations!

  4. This is such a wise philosophy – I’ve learned so much more on my own and through experience than I ever did in a classroom. There is such incredible knowledge that we can share within our communities, and the lessons are much more heartfelt.

    And I’m flattered that you would turn to me for photography inspiration! 🙂

  5. miss figgy says:

    Hey, I just found your blog! I was also unschooled until 6th grade, when I decided to attend a regular school.
    In response to the above comments- I think that the reason unschooling doesn’t work for some people is because they were told what to do all the time and lost the ability to think for themselves. Everyone was born with passion and the capacity to be interested in the world around them. Most people lose this when they go to school or because they have parents that don’t allow them to be themselves.

  6. oilpaintarts says:

    In Unschooled blog,Lack of education is by far the variable type of education program at home more relaxed.

    Thanks submit nice comments!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

