Seva Restaurant in Ann Arbor

Yum.

Like, really yum.

Oily, salty, crispy, indulgent. Sometimes it’s just what you want, right?

Though I’m not much into looking at booths, I tagged along with my family to the Ann Arbor Art Fair, knowing we would be going out to a veg place later ;).

It was extremely hot and humid, so after walking at the fair for a bit, I cooled off in a Border’s bookstore, and used up part of my gift card from circa 2002 before their complete liquidation today. I got interviewed on my way out by CBS about its closing…. with my hat turned sideways, my rat promotion t-shirt on, and a camera slung around my neck. :shock:.

For linner (4 pm) we met up at Seva. The menu is all vegetarian, with plenty of gluten-free and vegan stuff, too. Since I’m experimenting with gluten, I ordered a dish that had wheaty soy sausage.

Crispy rosemary garlic red-skinned potatoes (just like my childhood favorite!), tofu scramble, and soy sausage, and a side of steamed spinach.

Being the die-hard breakfast lover I am, I knew what I wanted right away. The meal also came with toast but I had more than enough food as it was, so I gave it to my sister. The rest of my family ordered french fries as an appetizer, and my mom got the thai salad, my dad the spinach enchiladas, and my sister the portabella mushroom burger with fries.

I loved my meal. Nothing was too spicy, and though all the food was rather salty, I know that that is due to my more sensitive tastespuds– I got passed it and enjoyed replenishing all the salt I poured out in my sweating! I ate about two-thirds of my food and took the rest to go.

After eating, we all looked at more stalls of art. As I said, I’m not really into that sort of thing (it reminds me of going to museums…. bore) but even I got excited when I saw these:

This woman makes little clay animals, paints them, and transforms them into art! So flippin’ cute.

Look at the little rats!

After doing a bit of food shopping at the downtown coop, the day was said and done and 7:30 pm and I was exhausted (I kept drifting off on the car ride home). So I went to bed at 8:00, but not before reading a bit:

I finally found this long sought after book at a Borders, of all places. I’m loving it so far.

~~~~~~~~

Do you like fairs? How about museums?

Museums= booooring! The rest of family can wander in one for hours those, so I have to bring things to keep me occupied. Although, I might change my tune if I ever come across a food photography museum….

This entry was posted in restaurant review. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Seva Restaurant in Ann Arbor

  1. Maxwell says:

    The animals are so cute! But your meal looked beautiful 🙂

    I actually like Museums! Especially on dark rainy days, like today. Science Museums, I could do any day though! I love messing around in them 🙂

  2. Stephanie says:

    Omg. Those potatoes need to be in my mouth like, right now.
    Those little clay things are adorable.
    I like museums and fairs but I rarely go. The last time I went to a museum was in the Spring of 2010. I saw the David. I don’t think anything right now is going to measure up to that 😉

  3. Oh my goodness I want that meal RIGHT NOW! I absolutely love crispy breakfast potatoes and I’ve been loving tofu more and more each time I have it.

    I wish there was a good vegan restaurant close to my house– I’ve only been to one that was about 45 minutes away. It was worth it though, they had they best faux chicken 🙂

    – Nicole

  4. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    Seva is one of my favorite restaurants! They have such good food, and fun juices!

  5. Mandiee says:

    Oooh looks so good! Those roasted potatoes look so home-y (if that makes sense haha)! My mom recently got a gift card to Seva, so I’ve been trying to make my way to Ann Arbor to go. Soon, soon! I’m so sad about Border’s liquidation. It was one of my favorite places to spend a lazy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

