Treat Dream Ice Cream

Ice cream is synonymous with summer, right?

The other day, my sister and I went together to Treat Dreams, a local ice cream shop with lots of innovative flavors and baked goods. When I read on a review online that mentioned the good vegan selection, I decided little sister and I needed a treat.

It was well wort it, especially considering hot and humid weather! The air conditioned shop was a welcome treat (almost rivaling the excellent ice cream!), and the colors and kid play area made the experience all the merrier.

The flavors change weekly, except for a few constant staples, and there are always a couple of vegan options, as well as a couple sorbets. The second I saw the words “chocolate” and “peanut butter” and “vegan” on the little sign, I knew I had to get it.

I am a total sucker for the combo. I brought my own little container and spoon to eat it with. Less waste!

This particular ice cream was made with a rice milk base. It was delicious! The texture was spot on, and the chocolate flavor was wonderfully intense. I could have done with some more peanut butter, but that is no surprise considering my consumption history ;). Though it was a tad sweet for my taste, I know that that is only because my tongue spuds are more sensitive than the average Americans. I just try to ignore it and enjoy the great flavors behind the sugar :).

My little sister got a non-vegan ice cream, so I didn’t try it, but it was coffee flavor with Reeses pieces inside!

All in all, my sister and I loved Treat Dreams.ย  They offer something for everyone, such as baked goods, ice cream pints, and half scoops, in addition to one, two, and three scoops. We are planning on going next week to check out what different flavors they might have!

~~~~~~~~

Favorite flavor of ice cream? Being vegan, people think we are missing out on ice cream….. how wrong they are! There are many non-dairy brands out there! My favorites are turtle mountain and coconut bliss, and homemade is something I would like to try, too.ย  My general flavor fave is anything mocha! Ahhhhh. I love topping my ice cream with raisins, nuts, cocoa powder (more chocolate!!), chocolate sauce, and fruit. I like to bulk the ice cream up!

This entry was posted in chocolate, restaurant review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Treat Dream Ice Cream

  1. Ice cream is definitely synonymous with summer ๐Ÿ˜€ Just had a bowl of it myself to celebrate the sun finally coming out today. I hate to be kind of boring, but vanilla is kinda, sorta my favorite ice cream flavor lol. I love it just plain, and if I wanna spice it up then I throw in some chocolate or fruit or what have you… it makes a great base for anything ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Mandiee says:

    so i’ve lived in the detroit-metro area for all my life, and i never knew about treat dream. here i was thinking the only vegan ice cream i could get was either in the store or if i made it at home (well, now there’s a place called Sweet Earth in Birmingham, but regardless). thank you for informing me!

Leave a Reply

