Summer Food Favorites: Fruit and Nuts

In most places of the world, summer is the biggest bowl, metaphorically speaking, when it comes to fruit. Berries, citrus, grapes, plums, nectarines, peaches, apricots, cherries, and more all come into season.

For a while, I cut fruit out of my diet, when I was suffering from severe digestive complaints. This was during my days of five daily bananas, dried fruit, and any other sweet gem I could lay my hands on. I am mercifully incorporating fruit, one variety at a time, back my diet and have pinpointed to problem: bananas. After healing, every time I eat for than a few slices I get spiking gut pain :(.

Nuts, though they come in most readily in the Autumn, store well and are easily accesible in summer. Nuts and fruit are complimenting to one another….. it’s also my extreme interpretation of a balancing act :oops:; Eat the watery calories of fruit and replenish the deficit by eating a few spoonfuls of peanut butter!

Fruits and nuts I’ve been loving lately:

Toasted almonds

Peaches. My sister and I, the fruit team, mowed this basket down in about 48 hours.

Strawberries, which are excellent with:

Peanut butter!

And in fact, combining all of the above foods into a bowl happens to create a great snack:

Strawberries and blueberries from the farmers market, frozen peach slices, peanut butter, and an ice cube ;). Adding an extra spoonful of peanut butter was necessary eating to near the bottom of the bowl (where the fruit was naked).

😳 Sowwie. Oops, I did it again! (Ack!)

Not related to fruit, but completely related to summer, is my chocolate pudding.

Sub half of the water for coffee, and layer it with peanut butter, and you have a seriously addicting summer treat. I am planning on trying to freeze the pudding to make fudgesicles :D.

~~~~~~~~~

What are some of your summer food favorites? A couple more SFF posts ought to be coming, probably on pancakes and cooked grain cereal!

This entry was posted in chocolate, food lists, fruit, nuts/seeds, photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Food Favorites: Fruit and Nuts

  1. No bananas? Oh noes! They’re probably my favorite fruit, but it’s good that you identified what was causing you pain, because that’s never fun to deal with. Some of my other favorites lately have been cantaloupe, mango, strawberries, blueberries, and cherries… and those all go beautifully with my other favorites of almond butter and chocolate. Oh, and who could forget ice cream? Ice cream is a must for the summer.

  2. Pingback: Quick Meals? |

Leave a Reply

