Snacks for the Road

I feel as though I have become a  bit of an expert on the subject lately ;). What with moving to the Detroit area in Michigan, I have dominated the realm of car snacking.

My idea of a miserable time can include a lot of things– one of which is a full stomach. I feel weighted down, held back, and not in tip-top shape when my gullet is full. I have transitioned myself to eating smaller amounts every couple of hours– which is working wonders for my digestion and feeling of well-being. Therefore, snacks (which are my favorite types of foods anyway– preceded by breakfast) are an integral part of my day now. And I wouldn’t have it any other way!

In the car I can struggle with boredom eating, which ends rather unpleasantly with feeling of guilt and a miserable tummy to boot. This trip I am very proud of myself however, for indulging but knowing my limits!

Some of my favorite snacks on this trip have been

Cereal and apricots (which I always eat at least three of in a row).
I could live off of cereal and fruit for the rest of my days.. and I kind of did for this trip :).

Some great cereal mix in are nuts and chocolate (I prefer unsweetened). If the car is really hot, the chocolate will get all melty and coat your cereal, too!

Another favorite snack?

Popcorn! Made on a camp stove, in a pan, it gets all burny and crunchy. Mmmm…

More fruit it necessary:

Strawberries out family friends let me pick form their strawberry patch before moving :(.

Other good snacks:

  • Unsweetened chocolate
  • Puffed rice
  • Veggies (I love cucumbers in the car– a real treat!)
  • Toasted almonds
  • Peanut butter (on my cereal or straight out of the jar)
  • Juice (a treat, since it hurts my tummy if eaten in excess)

There’s more I eta in the car, but those are my favorites to eat!

OKAY! The rest of my family is awake now and eating (I am sitting at a hotel breakfast, having recently finished a bowl of cereal with peanut butter and orange juice;)). We are about three hours from our new home! YIPPEE!

~~~~~~

What are your go-to car foods?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snacks for the Road

  1. Stephanie says:

    I haven’t been on a long road trip in forever, but if I were to go on one now, I’d have to bring Pirate’s Booty in the Veggie flavour, carrots, gingerade kombucha and lots of fruit. Maybe a box of spinach to munch on, too. 🙂

  2. Is it just me, or does food always taste 100x better while you’re on the road or on a trip? It seems like even the most basic stuff all of a sudden tastes amazing. I love it! I usually pack dried fruit, trail mix, nuts, cereal, popcorn, cookies, veggies, bananas, apples, bars, and gummy bears 😀

Leave a Reply

