Chocolate Pudding!

I know what your saying, right now (yes, I am telepathic :D)

“Is this going to be another post without this chocolate pudding we’ve been promised about ten thousand times by VEGirl?”.

Well, I have the hopefully perfected recipe. It’s ready for whatever you want to throw at it (preferably you shall throw your spoon and tongue!)!

So far we’ve seen it in a pie and as my breakfast. The thing I love about this pudding is that it’s filling (due to the whole foods), develops that pudding ‘skin’ on the top that people like so much, and you can make it as fat-free and sugar-free as you like.

At first glance, the ingredients may not seem like they would create anything remotely near a pudding. Hot cereal? Beans? Vinegar? Trust, my friends, trust! Remember our “Healthy” Dessert discussion? This recipe may not be like an egg and milk pudding– but it certainly carves it’s own category and demands respect for its differences!

Chocolate Pudding

Gluten-free, vegan, egg-free, dairy-free, whole-grain

makes about 4 cups (1 quart)

2 ½ cups water (cut with coffee for mocha pudding!)
½ cup ground, toasted rice
approximately a third of a package firm silken tofu OR ¼ cup cooked beans
1/2 cup chocolate chips OR 57 grams unsweetened chocolate OR ½ cup cocoa powder
Sugar to taste, for taste spuds different from mine! (I use 3 tablespoons or other people)
1/8 teaspoon guar gum
1 teaspoon vanilla (optional)
1 teaspoon vinegar (balsamic or apple cider impart good flavor)
1/16 teaspoon salt (optional)
Stevia (or desired sweetener) to taste

Bring the water to a boil with the ground toasted rice, stirring continuously. Once bubbling furiously, cover with a lid a lid and cook for a minimum of five minutes. You have just made hot cereal, and you could eat it now as is– but let’s continue with the recipe, shall we?

In a blender or food processor, blend until smooth the hot cereal (while still hot) with the tofu or beans, chocolate of choice, vanilla,  vinegar, and optional salt. The cereal will met the chocolate as it blends. Taste for sweetness, and add your desired sweetener as necessary. Transfer to a bowl or serving dishes and chill through, to allow the pudding to thicken and develop a skin. Individual times vary upon volume of pudding to be chilled– start with at least an hour.

Sweetener notes:

When using sweetened chocolate chips, I use the smallest dash of stevia for flavor. When using unsweetened chocolate, I use a bit more stevia (about an ⅛ teaspoon) to lighten the load. For average tastspuds, use sweetened chocolate chips and add an additional three tablespoons of sugar, then adjust sugar to taste. I HAVE NOT used agave or brown rice syrup as an addition to this recipe, but from my previous experience with them, I imagine they would set up in the fridge fine.

Chocolate notes:

Using unsweetened chocolate creates a bitter, deep chocolate result. If you use cocoa powder, you can save on the fat and calories, though it will create a slightly different result. When using sweetened chocolate chips, you can add three tablespoons cocoa powder to create a deeper chocolate experience. I like bitter chocolate, and I use a 1/3 cup cocoa powder in conjunction with a square of bakers chocolate.

Other notes:

If using beans instead of silken tofu, keep in mind they will impart a slight flavor– depending on the beans you use.  I often leave out the salt, but for conventional taste spuds you may want to include it.

Printable Recipe

See this post for pictures and info on variation.

This entry was posted in chocolate, recipe, rice. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chocolate Pudding!

  1. Wowie! This is probably the most creative pudding recipe that I’ve ever come across, but it sure does sound good 😀 Thanks for sharing! I love pudding but I’m usually too lazy to make my own. I’m really curious about this recipe, though, because I’ve never seen anything like it… so you may have convinced me to give it a go 😉

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    aahh the recipe is finally here! It looks really good, And I love how you said it has the skin that regular pudding has. I haven’t had dairy pudding in years, and you mentioning the skin made me miss it, so I’ll have to try your recipe out!

  3. Pingback: Rats Need Treats, too! |

  4. Pingback: Summer Food Favorites: Fruit and Nuts |

  5. Pingback: “All the proof of a pudding is in the eating” |

  6. Pingback: 5-Second Chocolate Sauce (or Pudding) |

Leave a Reply

