Today’s Tasty Lunch

I’m just popping in real quick to share some pics of my tasty lunch this afternoon!

All mid-morning (after running some errands on my bike), I have been making peanut butter and other food preparations that needed doing. I am in charge of preparing breakfast mixes for our move to Michigan in a couple of weeks, so I’ve been grinding up hot cereal grain and will make pancake mix later today!

On the menu today (no time to edit photos, sorry! I have to jet off to the kids science center to volunteer with the animals right after I publish this):

A pancake sandwich (my specialty!) with peanut butter and strawberries sautéed with balsamic vinegar and vanilla. It was like peanut butter and jelly, only gourmet!

A BIG salad of spinach and kale, topped with balsamic tamari glazed veggies– eggplant strips, onion, carrot, and mushrooms. The hot veggies wilted the spinach a bit and made it really tasty! Although, I couldn’t finish the whole salad– I had snacked a bit on peanut butter and homemade pudding before lunch ;).



A little glass of homemade soymilk– a rare occurrence in my book! I’ve only lately been loving the non-dairy milk.

The whole lunch, though smaller than my usual, really hit the spot.

*On an unrelated note, I just made a batch of Katie’s Blondie Batter dip… which will no doubt be featured on the menu later, when I come back from the Science Center! ;)*

~~~~~~~~~~~~

What is a food you’ve been living lately? Yes, I know every blogger asks this… but I can’t resist. I love hearing about what other people find delicious (whether it’s healthy or not!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Today’s Tasty Lunch

  1. Lauren says:

    Your pancake idea is ingenius..seriously. i love anything pb&j so that sounds like a “gourmet” version of it 🙂
    A food I’ve been loving lately? Cherries!!
    I bought a bag the other day because they were finally under $3 for a pound, and i’ve already eaten a TON. they’re a bit addicting!

  2. Picky Nicky says:

    Pancake sandwich?? You are such a little chef 🙂 I want one!!! Lately I’ve been munching on sourdough toast with nut butter like it’s nobody’s business 😉

  3. Stephanie says:

    Polenta = my fave food of the moment. I’m trying to force myself to eat greens and squash right now, and the only way it’s going in is with 3/4 of a plate full of polenta. I don’t know what’s happening to my taste buds. I feel like I’m going crazy and one of those people who don’t like veggies. All I want right now (besides more polenta) is an apple and some fresh strawberries, but I don’t have any in my house right now. 😥

  4. chocolate-katie says:

    Awww! I am so excited you liked it!! And OMG OMG did you really say “peanut butter and cookie dough sandwich”???? Yes, I think you did. And now I can’t stop thinking about it!

  5. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    A pancake sandwich? That sounds like one of the most amazing culinary creations I’ve ever heard of. And lately I’ve been addicted to red, yellow, and orange bell peppers. They are SUPER cheap at my grocery store currently and I wanna eat as many as I can before the prices go up again!

    • VEGirl says:

      If I had cheap bell peppers, I would make fajitas with bell peppers and tofu. But unfortunately I don’t live in a warm climate and they cost me quite a few fingers to buy :(.

  6. I LOVE that you had breakfast for lunch 😀 I’ve been completely obsessed with breakfast foods lately, so I usually end up eating them 2 or 3 times a day more days than not. It’s been all oatmeal, smoothies, yogurt messes, cereal, pancakes… and tomorrow I’m thinkin’ waffles 😀

  7. Gourmet PB&J…now THAT sounds delicious! I’ve actually been living off another form of PB&J for several weeks now. It started out as a PB&J and BBQ tofu sandwich and then it morphed into hummus, baked hummus balls, egg sandwich, and yesterday, oatmeal! I know it sounds disgusting, but I promise it’s not…BBQ seasoning NOT BBQ sauce (sauce might actually be a little gross)!

    I am a HUGE fan of dessert hummus! I’ve not made Katie’s exact recipe but it’s similar to another one that I’ve tried…who knew chickpeas and peanut butter could go so well together??

Leave a Reply

