Fling into Spring….

…with muffins!

Although, technically it’s supposed to almost be summer. However, up in my neck of the woods, we are still getting chilly weather and rain :(.

Nothing like some baking to cheer you up though, eh? Referring to my latest cookbook addition, “Vegan Desserts” by Hannah Kaminsky (love this gal!), I decided on the Spring Fling muffins— since they contained strawberries (which I had, in the freezer) and rhubarb (which is going wild in our yard).

Since this book is not gluten-free, I needed to replace the whole-wheat flour and all-purpose flout with something. Luckily I’ve done a lot of experimenting with replacing flours, and Hannah’s recipes always work wonderfully with my substitutions (another thing I love about her!). (Substitution details at bottom of post)

*As a side-note, I’d like to mention that, for anybody interested in buying the book, there is a nifty allergy index in the back, listing recipes already free of soy, gluten, nuts, etc.*

After my gorgeous muffins were removed from the oven, I did a little photo shoot. I thought it would be fun to mimic the photograph in the book! I hope that isn’t copyright infringement or something…

original photo

…my photo. I had no top for my strawberry,so I used a mint leaf.

Kay, so they aren’t identical, but it was fun! In addition to baking normal sized muffys, I made a few mini’s, and one JUMBO muffin. I saved the jumbo for this morning’s breakfast :). Twas absolutely perfect. The crumb has that right balance between delicate and slightly spongy, with the sugar accenting the tart rhubarb and flavorful strawberries perfectly. I used coconut oil in place of canola, so my favorite oil flavor gently permeated every tender bite of my muffin.

I had my breakfast jumbo muffy spread with a homemade vegan cream cheese (And I totally kept re-spreading each bite with the stuff ;)). In addition I had a spot of soy yogurt, and peanut butter. It was another one of those feeling normal moments.  Muffin with cream cheese and yogurt? Totally normal! Never mind the fact that the muffin is GF and vegan, the cream cheese dairy-free and homemade, and the yogurt soy and unsweetened. 

~~~~~~~~~~

Overall, another success from “Vegan Desserts”!

Disclaimer: I received this book as a birthday gift from my parents, and was not under any obligation to post reviews, let alone a positive one.

For those interested, GLUTEN-FREE FLOUR SUBSTITUTIONS were as follows:

for 1 cup all purpose-flour, I replaced with: 1/3 cup each of garbanzo flour, sorghum flour, and brown rice flour.

for 1 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour, I replaced with: 1 1/2 cups home ground quinoa flour (quinoa was untoasted).

This entry was posted in book review. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fling into Spring….

  1. I love the photo that you took of your muffins! Looks super close to the real thing 😀 And I’m feelin ya on the cold weather. Today is actually the first day in June that hasn’t been cloudy, wet, or both. But it definitely makes the mood all that much better for baking 😀 We’re actually enjoying some sunshine today, so I’ll try to send that your way too!

    • VEGirl says:

      Thanks! The day may start sunny, then get cloudy. Or start off cloudy and then get pretty and sunny (the case for today, as it happens!). The temperature has rarely gone above the upper fifties though 😦 Normally we are getting into 70 and 80 degree weather at this point!

  2. Picky Nicky says:

    Ahhhh those all sound so good 😀 And your photoshoot was a success!! lol I recently made banana muffins with coconut oil and they came out ABBBBBBSOLUTELY AAAAMAZING!!!

  3. I’d say your photo is spot-on! Very nice work, especially considering the added complication of making the muffins gluten-free. So glad you liked them! 🙂

  4. Stefanie says:

    Yum! I think your picture came out great. It is very close to the original but with your own take. You can send a little of the cold weather down to Florida. 🙂

  5. Stephanie says:

    Today is the first day in forever that it’s been sunny and nice outside. It’s been gross and rainy up until now, so you’re not alone. Also, though it was the first nice day in forever, I didn’t get to go outside because I was organizing my cupboards. Uuuuuugh, but at least it will be easier to find my beans and grains. OH and I found FIVE bottles balsamic vinegar. Apparently my family has an addiction.

  6. Pingback: Rats Need Treats, too! |

Leave a Reply

