Babycakes Wonderbun Adaptation

Ooohh, such a gorgeous Monday in my neck of the woods! And while most people are groaning, Monday is just another wonderful day of the week for me. Ahh, I love unschooling.

But I didn’t come to talk about Monday’s and the weather. Oh ho no.

Here she be:

My first recipe out of The new Babycakes Cookbook! Although, knowing me, I totally didn’t follow the recipe.

I made the Wonderbun recipe (the wonderous Babycakes cinnamon roll). I have had them from the bakery itself before, so I thought I could tweak the recipe to make it low fructose (a type of sugar found in high quantities in many fruits and agave nectar, that have causing digestive issues in me lately). SO I replaced the agave nectar with brown rice syrup, which also toned the sweetness down (very good). Also, having no Bob’s Red Mill GF all-purpose flour, I tried to make my own. Instead of the agave cinnamon center, I rolled blueberries, GF oats, cinnamon, and brown rice syrup into my roll.

The brown rice syrup definitely dried the dough out a bit, making it more difficult to roll. My addition of a dash of yeast, in addition to the baking powder, probably wasn’t the best idea either (though it imparted a very homey, yeasty taste). Nothing can beat the great taste that coconut oil lends, however!

As you can see, I have a chronic issue with following recipes!

In the end, the recipe actually turned out very tasty. In fact, I was heavily reminded of flaky biscuits when it came to the pastry! My adaptation definitely has some potential! However, next time I think I’ll follow the recipe. 😉

On the bright side, it was completely rat pack approved.

“Oh yeah, we dig it!”

Note to self: follow recipes in next Babycakes recipe try. Seriously.

Ps: I will not post recipes from cookbooks without permission on this site, however here is the cookbook on amazon. On the other hand, when I have adaptations of recipes that taste stellar, I will post them. This adaptation didn’t quite make the cut though!

This entry was posted in baking, book review, breakfast and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Babycakes Wonderbun Adaptation

  1. Stefanie says:

    Your rats are too cute eating their treat. Atleast your baked goods are edible despite not being what they should be.

  2. Pingback: Rats Need Treats, too! |

Leave a Reply

