Babycakes Mint Icebox Cake Review

Last Thursday was my little sisters tenth birthday, and she had been asking me for months for me to make the Mint Icebox Cake for her special day. I love all things Babycakes, so I was only too happy to make this new-to-me recipe.

I have had a couple mishaps with Babycakes batter before (don’t get me started on the Babycakes Banana bread mess. Too watery of a batter that spilled out of the pan in the oven and took forever to bake.), but I was determined to have this one work. Though I was nervous about adding all the called for liquid, making a very sloopy batter, it worked beautifully for the end result!

The cake was gorgeous moist perfection. (Can I ask what the big deal is about the word ‘moist’? I like it!)

However, the cake wouldn’t have complete without Babycakes signature frosting! I followed the recipe exactly, starting with less milk (just in case) but ended up adding the full amount. It thickened nicely in the food processor, and even more in the fridge. Super tasty stuff– not too sweet (which is what we all loved about it), and it was easy and spreadable.

The only change I made was swapping vanilla bean seeds for the extract, so it had a reversed night sky of specs, making it akin to french vanilla! In fact, the frosting heavily resembled and tasted of cream cheese! I would like to tweak the recipe a bit to make a cream cheese– I mean, how cool would that be?

It was super fun to construct the three-story, frosted cake! I swapped berries for the crumbled cookies in between the layers, per the recipe’s suggestion, and the resulting slices looked gorgeous– chocolate cake with stripes of white vanilla frosting and red strawberries.


That made for one happy birthday girl! It paired nicely with some banana soft serve I whipped up (frozen banana chunks blended with a bit of water until it is like ice cream), in place of non-dairy ice cream.

I tell you. That recipe made one big a** cake! My mom put the remaining slices in the freezer, but the cake was still moist, even after two days.

~~~~~

Well, I suppose all that oil went to good use. All of the 2   1/2 cups, between the cake and the frosting. That’s love for you.

PS: please support Katie’s Japan Bake Sale! I am donating chocolate-covered macaroons. It’s too late to donate an item, but you can bid on Tuesday!

This entry was posted in cake, photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Babycakes Mint Icebox Cake Review

  1. Christy says:

    It looks absolutely scrumptous. But You didn’t print the recipe…… Please, I would love to try it.

    • VEGirl says:

      Hi Christy: Since this recipe is from the Babycakes cookbook, I don’t feel comfortable posting it here. However, you may be able to find it elsewhere online, or you could check out the book from your local library. Better yet, purchase it– there are lots of other great recipes in there! They even have a new cookbook coming out on April 12!

      VEGirl

  2. Kiki says:

    Aw, what a nice big sister! I’m sure your little sis enjoyed her birthday very much because of that delicious cake.

    P.S. I like the word moist too. “Gobble,” on the other hand…

  3. Stefanie says:

    That is sweet of you to make your sister’s birthday cake. It looks really tasty too.

  4. Wow, wow, wow!! Your cake looks so amazing! I wish I could try it/have the recipe, but I understand why you can’t post it. 🙂 Love!

  5. Pingback: Picturesque Seattle Recap |

Leave a Reply

