Pear and Rosemary and Chocolate, oh my!

I know I left you all on a teaser with the Christmas dessert description at the end of that post, and no photo to accompany it! I wasn’t happy with the flash photos (why do beautiful desserts have to be eaten at night, by artificial light?), so I made the dessert again to take some nicer shots. Not that I was complaining about the repeat. 🙂

My gift to you: a layered dessert of warm, chunky pearsauce, followed by a fudgy brownie, topped off with a dollop of tofu whip and a drizzle of a divine rosemary pear reduction sauce. A garnish of sprinkled cinnamon and a rosemary sprig gives a dessert to the eyes, but is quickly discarded in favor of the flavors beneath it. The chocolate of the brownie contrasts and pairs wonderfully with the warm, succulent pear, while the aroma of rosemary fills the nose and mouth.

Despite its stunning presentation (if I do say so myself), this recipe is surprisingly easy to put together. The components for this recipe– peasauce, rosemary reduction sauce, tofu whip, and brownies, may be made in advance if you wish– very handy for rushed time with company! Also, though a glass makes for pretty presentation, you could mold the dessert on a plate as well. Depending on the size of your mold or glass, ingredient proportions may need adjusting.

Ingredients:
4-5 small pears
You favorite brownie recipe (see cut-out information below)
½ box firm silken tofu (Soyatoo! is a good substitute)
Lemon juice
stevia
1-2 drops rosemary essential oil (1 for most people– 2 drops for hardcore!)
rosemary sprigs, for garnish (optional)

For the pearsauce and reduction sauce, peel, core, and cube the pears. Cook them for at least ten minutes (longer is ok) over medium heat, with a few tablespoons of water. Once they are buttery soft, mash them with a fork or potato masher and strain them (a regular sifter works fine) to isolate the juice. Don’t juice them too dry, as you still want a texture akin to a thick applesauce, but you want a fair bit of the pear juice. Set aside the pearsauce for later, while putting the juice to simmer over low heat. Over the course of time, all the moisture will steam off, and you will be left with a syrupy reduction sauce, to which you flavor with 1-2 drops of rosemary essential oil. Be sure to keep an eye on the sauce, for if the heat is too much for too long, you will end up a burnt candy crusted pot! (Trust me… I’ve done it).

Prepare the brownies; you can prepare the brownies a day ahead, as well as all the other components! Any old brownie recipe will work– this way you can make your desert as healthy or indulgent as you please. The brownies should, preferably, be baked in a pan that will allow you to make cut outs for your serving glass; depending on the shape and size of your glasses and number of servings you wish to assemble. In my circumstances, I use a biscuit cutter for my brownies, which fits perfectly in my glass over a helping of the pearsauce.

For the tofu whip, blend the silken tofu, a generous squeeze of lemon (a scant tablespoon or so), and stevia to taste in a blender on high-speed. Blend it very smooth and creamy, and you should be able to create a dollop with the results. A soy based whipped cream could be substituted, if desired.

For assembly, (remember you assemble all the components ahead of time or day of), lightly warm the pearsauce and reduction sauce, and cut out the brownies to fit your serving glass (If they are too thick, saw the cut-outs in half, to make two ”rownies”). Divide the pearsauce among your glasses, then top with a brownie cut-out. Top with a dollop of tofu whip, a generous drizzle of pear rosemary reduction sauce, and finish with a sprinkle of cinnamon and garnish with a sprig of rosemary, if desired. Serve immediately.

Makes six servings, in my small dessert glasses.

Hope you enjoy! But I need some help: you’ll notice I didn’t title this recipe, any good name suggestions? Somehow, “Rosemary and Pear Dessert with Brownie in a glass” doesn’t exactly roll off the tongue. I’ll get up a printable version of the recipe once I get a good name!

This entry was posted in baking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pear and Rosemary and Chocolate, oh my!

  1. Beautiful! always love a recipe that transcends the boundaries of what to do with herbs and looks delicious too. Thank you

  2. ahh this looks gorgeous!

  3. Picky Nicky says:

    This looks so pretty! Not to mention, it’s such a creative recipe!!

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    HOLY GUACAMOLE!!! YOU SHOULD BE IN THE TOP CHEF!!!! That is gorgeous, girl! Man, you need to make my Christmas meal next year!

    I would call it….Chocolate Pear a la Rosemary…..eh…I guess I don’t have very good ideas either

  5. This looks so good! I always love finding new vegan recipes….ESPECIALLY dessert : D you are a marvel at vegan cooking!! : ))

  6. Wow, it sure looks artistic and presentable! I try to plate my food but I am usually too famished to do that and take photos. Bravo to you for doing wonderful job.

Leave a Reply

