No Need for Tofurky!

Hi all, happy new year!

I know that I’m a *wee* bit late (or a lot late…), but Christmas eats must be accounted for! I got to be in charge of Christmas day breakfast and dessert, in addition to out traditional homemade high tea.

After opening some presents on Christmas morning, I threw on my (brand-spankin new, made by grandma) apron. I’ll have to post a pic of it sometime, it’s reversible, with one sides fabric depicting artistic farm animals faces (love!) and the other side is a pink and brown cow-hide pattern! There is a pocket on each side, and I feel so cute when I wear it. Anyway, on to the breakfast:

Mint crepes with chocolate raspberry filling only, without the raspberriess! I made some no sugar cranberry sauce (just cooked the berries with a tiny bit of water until it jellied. Refrigerated overnight), and then in the morning I lightly warmed it while sweetening it with stevia and agave nectar to taste. In went the cocoa powder, and I spread it in some minty fresh crepes (folded over half-ways). Once sprinkled with a garnish of 100% cocoa bakers chocolate, it was ready for the table. They were eaten with a citrus fruit place, and everyone enjoyed them (family and grandparents)!

Preceding my special dessert, was a three course meal. My mom almost single-handedly whipped up a sumptuous feast, with a soup starter (butternut squash soup), a salad course (vegan Cesar with homemade GF croutons), and the main course was as follows: steamed brusel sprouts with red pepper, and steamed cauliflower and broccoli, as well as mashed sweet potatoes, light mushroom gravy, and….:

Tofu roast. homemade. It’s some recipe my mom found on the internet somewhere a couple years ago, but it is delicious (and very filling). It sort of looks like a big tofu log, but cutting in reveals a stuffed middle, complete with bread and cranberries!

And for the best part, desert! I am NOT going to post a photo here, because I was NOT satisfied with the flash photo pictures, but I WILL tell you what it was. My dessert was a warm, thick, chunky, pear sauce with a rownie (round brownie) on top, stacked in a dessert glass and topped with a dollop of whipped tofu and drizzled with a rosemary pear reduction sauce. A sprinkle of cinnamon finished the presentation, and it was all delicious, if I do say so myself. 🙂

Well, I need to jet off to bed, because the whole family is going skiing tomorrow. Though I have only ever skied once, I love it. See you on Tuesday, I hope, when I’ll be sitting on a sore bum :).

This entry was posted in breakfast, Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Need for Tofurky!

  1. Picky Nicky says:

    Minty crepes sounds awesome! Especially with chocolate sauce 🙂 You have one spoiled family!! 😀

  2. wo those crepes sound awesome! mint?! SWEEt!

  3. Kiki says:

    What a gourmet Christmas you had! The mint crepes sound especially delicious, as does your dessert. I’ve never tried a tofu loaf before, which probably means I’m not a real vegetarian haha… I should get on that!

  4. Pingback: Pear and Rosemary and Chocolate, oh my! |

Leave a Reply

