Buckwheat Raisin Cookies

The glory days have arrived: gluten-allergies have become a common known fact, and  gluten-free products are now much more widespread and known than in past years! However, though they are available does not mean they are necessarily available (financially) to all. One such example is gluten-free oats (just one of the many GF-inized products), now much more accessible, but the fact still stands that they can be spendy and just aren’t an option to everyone.

I am graced to have quite a supply of GF oats in my home. My mother and I, the ones with the allergy requiring them, are both unabashed oat lovers. We could hardly believe when our favorite man, Bob (sorry dad), started carrying 25 pound bags of the gluten-free rolled oats, and at a much cheaper price per pound than buying individual (plastic) bags of them! We have had an unlimited supply for a few months now, and though in the back of my mind I know we won’t have them forever, oats are a regular ritual for me nowadays.

Despite this, I am always wanting to think up creative ways to replace oats in traditional recipes. I know that not every gluten-free soul has access to them, and I want to include everyone in the fun, of course! I have had this recipe for quite awhile, in fact I think I developed it when we didn’t have access to our beloved oats. These cookies are a re-designed oatmeal raisin cookie. The catch? They have no oats! My second favorite groat, buckwheat, stands in nicely, lending crunchy nibbles to this cookie.

My mom is obsessed with them; every time I mention baking cookies, she hints in a (generally fruitless) attempt to goad me into making them! It’s no wonder she loves them though, these substantial cookies are tasty by any standard, with a soft bite accompanied by a bit of a chewy edge. Enjoy!

Buckwheat Raisin Cookies
Gluten/wheat-free, vegan, fat-free, agave-sweetened

These can be adapted to any season. In summer, a buckwheat raisin cookie ice cream sandwich is the stuff of dreams (and make sure it’s vegan! Try mocha or pb chocolate soy ice cream flavors by Organic So Delicious). For the cold months and holidays, add some warming spices (such as cinnamon, all spice, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger).

½ cup brown rice flour
¼ cup potato flour
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional; recommended for the holidays)
4 teaspoons (1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon) ground flax seeds
¼ cup water
½ cup agave nectar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional; I often leave it out)
1 cup buckwheat groats
½ raisins

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a large cookie sheet, OR line it with parchment paper.

In a mixing bowl, combine the ground flax seed and water. Let it sit and gel. Meanwhile, separately whisk together the potato flour, brown rice flour, baking soda, and salt.  Mix the agave nectar and vanilla into the flax gel, and slowly incorporate the dry mix to form a dough. Stir in the buckwheat groats and raisins.
Drop the dough by the spoonful onto your prepared cookie sheet. Using whetted hands, shape and smooth out each blob, as they will not spread during the baking process. Bake the cookies for 15-20 minutes, when they being to lightly brown. Take them out at the former time for a slightly softer cookie, the latter for a chewier one. Cool on a wire wrack and store uneaten cookies in an airtight container.

Yields about 24 cookies (2 dozen)

Printable Recipe

This entry was posted in cookies, oil-free, sugar-free and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Buckwheat Raisin Cookies

  1. these look so healthy, hearty and nutritious! my favorite kinds of recipes!

  2. I have a friend who is allergic and eats only gluten free food, last time she visited I did not have much gluten free stuff to share but now I will make this cookies for her! Thank you for broadening my knowledge.

  3. Sahirah says:

    Hi, these cookies look delicious, 2 questions, Is that potato flour or potato starch? and you think I could replace the agave with raw honey? I don’t use agave nectar.

    • VEGirl says:

      Yes, that is potato flour (NOT starch). And I imagine you could use honey. Agave is a bit runnier that honey, but with a bit of experimenting I bet it would work! Other substitutions could be brown rice syrup (would produce a much less sweet result) or sugar syrup. I can’t garaentee results with honey, but good luck!

      VEGirl

  4. Hannah says:

    I’m making these right now with maple syrup!

Leave a Reply

