The Round Root of Pi(e) Is…

Oops… did I say round, I meant square ;). No roots to be found in my pies though, just some lovely pumpkin and apple :).

After a great dinner with our friends at Thanksgiving, we all took a nice walk before enjoying pie. Or at least, walking was the intention. Halfway down the street, the four of us youngsters decided we wanted to go sledding… in the dark… and the adults agreed. We walked to a nearby park with some great hills and sled with the adults. It was a blast!

Apple Pie, with my newly invented crust that everyone loved! The filling is peeled sliced apples, with lemon juice, cinnamon, and a touch of stevia.

Once we returned to our friends home, we enjoyed some dessert before playing a great game– ‘Apples to Apples’ (ever played? It’s so much fun!). On the pie menu we had apple and pumpkin, both made by yours truly.

Pumpkin Pie. Agave/stevia sweetened!

Both were deemed delicious by everyone (including myself, obv.). But tis time to move onto more important matters, which has no doubt become a minor obsession (am I right?). Tis time to talk of the crust adorning these two pie slices. This crust tis my new invention. Tis flavorful and holds together well… should I stop saying tis now? How about I just give you the recipe :).

Low-fat, Gluten-free, Vegan Pie Crust
Agave-sweetened, gluten-free, vegan, low-fat, whole-grain

Makes one double-crust or two single crusts

1 cup rolled oats (gluten-free), ground
1 cup Sorghum flour
pinch salt
1 tablespoon almond butter (preferably crunchy and roasted) (or preferred nut butter)
1 tablespoon agave nectar
water (1 tablespoon at a time)

In a spice grinder (recommended) or good food processor, grind the rolled oats into a powder. Dump into a mixing bowl along with the sorghum flour, salt, almond butter (you can use different nut butters for different flavor accents), and agave nectar. Mix with a fork or pastry cutter, incorporating 1 tablespoon of water at a time. 9-11 tablespoons should most likely be sufficient, but don’t be shy to add more as needed. The dough should be reasonably soft and pliable, but not too sticky.

Make pie as directed in recipe, using this crust. You can press the dough into a pie pan, or roll it out between two pieces of parchment paper.

Printable Recipe

 

This entry was posted in almond butter, oats, oil-free, pie. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Round Root of Pi(e) Is…

  1. Walking before eating pie(s) is a good idea. After thanksgiving feast, I need to walk a lot!
    I love the rustic look of apple pie! Somehow we always have at least 3 type of pie desserts at the thanksgiving, anything less would not be thanksgiving. I like vegan pies.

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Oh gosh-I LOVE Pumpkin Pie!!! If there was one thing I would eat all the time (if I could eat sugar) it would be PUMPKIN PIE!

    • VEGirl says:

      Alex, I need to develop a stevia-sweetened pumpkin pie now! I love my pumpkin pies… one of the best parts of Thanksgiving (right next to the cranberry sauce).

  3. Pingback: Hoiday Recipe Round-Up |

Leave a Reply

