A White Thanksgiving?

Aaaaaahhhhh, hellooooo holidays! The air certainly has a festive feel, in part due to the fact that we are under almost a foot of snow, and now the flakes are coming down more! Though I wasn’t able to get up any recipes before Thanksgiving this year, if the pies I baked go over well with everyone, I will share them soon and you can use them for next year :).

Little Sis and I had a lovely morning together, making pancakes and playing a nice game of cards. Which I won, by the way.

We enjoyed a tasty breakfast of oatmeal banana pancakes (we made tons so that there would be leftovers for mom and dad) with a lemon agave syrup, accompanied by apple slices.

I am pretty stoked for sharing pies (and taking photos of slices after Thanksgiving dinner). Here’s a teaser:

YUM YUM YUM! Apple pie! With a new tasty low-fat crust I invented– get excited!

We also have pumpkin pie as well. We have two of each, and will keep one of each here when we bring some dishes to dinner at a family friend’s house. Each of our family is contributing food to the dinner. But despite that, my mom and I still make all the fixings for a full feast so that we have them for leftovers after Thanksgiving. It is hard tradition in our family to make enough food for our four person army, rent a stack of movies, and eat and watch for the days after Thanksgiving. No cooking and just movie watching for days… can you think of anything better after two full days of straight cooking?

Well, I’m off to hang with the family. What did you do for Thanksgiving?

 

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A White Thanksgiving?

  1. Alex@Spoonful of Sugar Free says:

    Yum! I want that pie! Happy Thanksgiving!!! It looks like you had a great day…I love eating pancakes and playing cards with my sis, too 😉

    I was playing in a tennis tournament (out of state) on thanksgiving…..soooo..I played a couple of tennis matches, and my Thanksgiving ‘feast’ consisted of a veggie omelet from IHOP and a side of fruit…wahooo….(IHOP was the only place open!)

  2. theflourishingfoodie says:

    Sounds like a fun thanksgiving, can’t wait to hear how the pie went over.
    My day began with a 5 miles turkey trot and the rest of the day was spent as my cousins’ house enjoying time with family, eating, playing games, and watching football.

Leave a Reply

