All About Junior

Meet Junior:

She is a art time member of my animal family, and is over 2 1/2 years old. She is in very good health, even the vet proclaimed her in the excellent condition, what with her age. “Hi Junior!” (“Hi world!”:).

She lives at the local science center– where I volunteer, and is the last of a group of four rats. When her last sister died in September, we though she would be extremely lonely, but after the initial depression of losing her sibling, she is the happiest she has ever been (most likely due to the fact that she was the “bottom of the barrel” in her group). She was born at the center, and quite enjoys her job interacting with the children who visit the animal hall.

Junior eating a rat sized vegan slice of pizza

We have a dedicated animal caretaker, whom I work alongside. Junior loves her… she also loves me. Because of her single-ness, Junior comes for long sleepovers every weekend at my house. I pick her up on Friday afternoon, and she stays on Saturday, Sunday and Monday (when they are closed), and returns to her “day job” on Tuesday morning.

Junior gets the best of both worlds– and so do I! We are very attached to one another and are the best of friends. I finally tell you about this because Junior is a huge part of my life– I look forward to every weekend because she gets to come over! I want to talk about her more in the future, and thought you should know all about her before I start ranting on some story in a post, with you going “WHA???”.

Junior, you’re an internet star. 

“Really?”

Edit: Junior has since passed, in January of 2011. Please rest in peace, Junior.

Today’s Question:

Have you ever met a rat, or had one as a pet? They are amazing creatures! 🙂

This entry was posted in personal, rats. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to All About Junior

  1. Stefanie says:

    I have had 3 rats as pets. My first rat was kept alone because I did not know better. She was a hairless and had the cutest personality. My next two rats were a pair and past on at 1 years old (not the best bred rats and had health issues). They were a hairless and a black/white hooded rat. Hairless rats are crazy or at least the two females I have had the pleasure of caring for.

    Junior looks like a sweet little rat. I look forward to hearing more about her.

  2. jen says:

    ohhhh my goodness. cuteness overload i can’t take it! i said aww about fifty times. 🙂 xox

  3. Pingback: Just Call Me Anne | The Adventures of VEGirl

  4. Pingback: A Gluten-free Vegan High Tea |

  5. Pingback: (no subject) |

  6. Pingback: Adventures of VEGirl |

  7. Pingback: A Rat’s Need for Companionship |

  8. Pingback: Why My Rats Don’t Bite |

Leave a Reply

