Hello Halloween!

Happy Halloween! May everyone gorge themselves with candy, as the American Halloween founding fathers (aka the candy industries) intended. I, for one, like the original intention of ‘All Hallows Eve’, which is to honor and remember those whom we loved, who have since passed.

Well, at least Halloween means pumpkins! Or… does it? I went through a lot to get this large can of pumpkin:

Want to hear the story? No? I’ll tell you anyway. My original intention was to buy an actual pumpkin from the grocery store, and cook it myself. That way I could skip the waste that comes along with buying the can. However, the first grocery store I biked to had no pumpkins (come on people, get with the season!). They did, though, have a big can of the above pumpkin for a discounted price. But instead of buying that, I rode my bike to the other grocery store in town. And there were still NO PUMPKINS, and worse was that their canned pumpkin was much more expensive that the other store. So alas, I bike across town again and bought the above can of pumpkin. Awww… the things I do for food.

This morning I broke it open (ok, not literally. I was a lady and used a can opener) to make this breakfast:

This basic recipe was in this post (Thanks Kiki!), but here is what I did:

Baked Pumpkin Oats
Gluten-free (if using GF oats) and vegan
serves 1

1 cup water (or other liquid. I would try apple cider!)
1/2 cup GF rolled oats
1/4 cup purred pumpkin (canned or otherwise)
cinnamon
Stevia (or other sweetener) to taste

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F (although I think I may have accidentally set mine to 350 degrees F! Guess it doesn’t really matter). Combine all the ingredients in a baking dish and bake for approximately 20 minutes. If desired, powder the oats slightly in a dry blender or spice grinder– it gives the finished oats a custard-y effect while still having some chew.

Eat straight out of the dish, and go crazy with toppings! I used coconut butter, raisins, chopped apple, and date sugar. Super satisfying and very delicious! EDIT: If you are multiplying this recipe for a larger crowd, reduce the water a bit (otherwise you’ll end up with a gloopy mess. I know this from experience, unfortunately).

Well, I’m off to go watch a movie with my daddy! My mom and sister are with her friends and their mom trick-or-treating, but I am staying home this year. We hardly ever get more than two or three trick-or-treaters, so it should be some uninterrupted fun! My dad is making his famous guacamole and we bought some special (secret) potato chips to go with them.

What did you do for Halloween this year?

This entry was posted in breakfast, Halloween, holidays, photography, sugar-free. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello Halloween!

  1. Kiki says:

    Yay, glad you liked the pumpkin oats! A very fitting breakfast for Halloween 🙂

    Haha yeah, I go to great lengths for good food too. Hope you get a lot of use out of that can of pumpkin, seeing as you spent so much energy to get it!

  2. Haha, I know the feeling! Us food bloggers… we’re crazy. 🙂

    I’m so glad you got your can of pumpkin though! If I were you, I would’ve stocked up while I was there. 🙂 That reminds me, my mom bought me like, 4 cans of pumpkin today!! Just because. Stoked? Totally. 😀

    I hope you had fun with your daddy!

    • VEGirl says:

      Today I was affirmed that, as a food blogger, I am indeed crazy. I went kayaking today with some friends/co-workers, and when I arrived home I found that half my pumpkin was gone. ???? Turns out my mom thought it was the homemade carrot butter she had made and ate half the supply. I knew I was a bonskers when, despite the fact that part of my brain was like “it’s just pumpkin, you can buy more”, I started to cry a bit 😦

      K, so maybe that isn’t blogger– just me 🙂 LOL

  3. Pumpkin oats look great. I did not do anything to special for Halloween besides hang out with friends and had a good time 🙂

  4. Mary says:

    Hey I was browsing through your website and was amazed!!! First thing I noticed was the great pictures, and next the amazing recipes! (should I have noticed it backwards- recipes first??) I’m a visual person haha! It’s a great place, keep posting!

  5. Pingback: Hoiday Recipe Round-Up |

Leave a Reply

