Baking with Babycakes

I was hesitant to write my Blogging Dilemma post, but I am indeed glad I did. Kelsey, you are right– I do need to show more of ME! When I look back on my posts, I want to be able to see myself in them. I have oodles of ideas for posts and features, and I am going to make a real effort to post often.

On the subject of “being real”, I am always worried to post pictures of myself. Probably partly (or wholly) due to all the freaky stories I have heard, and the talk I got from my mom when I first started a blog! I guess I am also concerned that people won’t like it– I have enough trouble accepting my own body and face, so what the heck are other people going to think about it?  Well, I am attempting to change it up a bit– so get ready to see a lot of my face in this post. (Oh, I feel so conceited!).

Onto more baking oriented topics– I am obsessed with the above book. You rock baby(cakes)! I am also obsessed with Erin McKenna… girl, you are seriously awesome. Seriously. And seriously– I need to own this book; it isn’t ideal to be baking with a library book, and I keep worrying I am going to spill something on it! Therefore it’s on my Christmas wish-list, which little sister is aware of :).

Speaking of little sisters– we decided to bake some cookays! Chocolate chip cookies, to be precise:


We replaced the majority of the oil with applesauce, and made some other changes. Well… I say we, but it was all at my request!

Me and my cookies… they were so yum.

Is your mouth watering yet? Good– because here, to the best extent of my memory, is the adapted recipe! By the way, we cut the recipe in half– so if you want the true Babycakes yield, double it.

Babycakes NYC Chocolate Chip Cookies… VEGirl style
Yields 18 cookies

2/3 cup applesauce (homemade is best!)
2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons date sugar
1/32 teaspoon (quarter of an eighth teaspoon) pure stevia powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon vanilla extract or 1/2-1 chopped vanilla bean
1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-free All-Purpose Baking Flour
2 tablespoons flax meal
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
Approx. 1/8 teaspoon guar gum
1/2 cup vegan, gluten-free chocolate chips (we used mini semi-sweet ones)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment.

In a medium bowl, thoroughly combine the applesauce, melted oil, date sugar, salt, and vanilla. In a separate, smaller bowl, whisk together the flour, flax meal, baking soda, and guar gum. Carefully add the dry ingredients to the wet, combining until you have a grainy dough. Fold in the chocolate chips until they are evenly distributed throughout the dough.

Drop scoops of dough onto the prepared baking sheets, about 1 inch apart. Wet you hand, and use the heel of it to gently press the cookies down. Ours did not spread a noticeable amount, they only puffed up, so the shape they go into the oven are close to the shape they will come out. Bake the cookies for approximately 15  minutes, rotating the sheets 18 degrees after 9 minutes. The finished cookie will be firm and darker on the edge, and soft to the touch in the center.

Transfer the cookies to a wire rack to cool. But don’t let that stop you from digging in :). Hot cookies are yummy cookies! They can be stored in an airtight container for a few days.

Oh, who am I kidding? Our cookies didn’t make it one single hour before they were happily in our stomachs! I believe that’s why we cut the recipe in half– because we knew we would eat them all. But before you eat them all– they sandwiching nut butter between two for a chocolate chip nutter butter sandwich! Try peanut butter or coconut butter :).

 

 

This entry was posted in cookies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Baking with Babycakes

  1. Eimear Rose says:

    I know accepting yourself is something that only you can do, but I thought I’d throw a bit of affirmation your way- you’re beautiful (and so is little sis)! You’re so lucky to have such amazing skin- must be veganism:)
    I’ve been looking for some good vegan dessert books and while I’m not gluten intolerant I find wheat really tough to digest, so this book looks great! I must add it to my ridiculously long amazon wish list.

    • VEGirl says:

      Awwww.. I think I’m blushing right now :). You are so sweet Eimear! And Babycake is certainly a great book to add to your shelf– but be warned that many of the recipes use spelt four (which isn’t wheat, but is gluten). I can’t eat spelt, but some with trouble digesting wheat may be able to. Just test it out! There are so many other great books that I could recommend! You know? I should add a recommended cook book list to the blog as a resource for people (*runs off*)

      (*quickly runs back to say:*) Happy Saturday! —VEGirl

  2. Kiki says:

    Okay, I feel the need to tell you that I’m not a 40-year-old man pretending to be a 16-year-old blogger so I can say this: YOU ARE SO CUTE! I hope that making this blog a bit more you-centered helps your confidence somewhat, because you truly are beautiful and I want you to see it 😀

    I just got Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, so I don’t think my mom is going to let me get any more vegan baking books! But your cookies do look delicious! Is your sister a vegan too?

    • VEGirl says:

      LOL I was beginning to wonder if you were an old man (JUST JOKING- SERIOUSLY I’M JOKING!). Anyway, my sister was vegan for a while, then fell off the bandwagon, and right now is working on being vegan. It was so cool– she wanted to have pizza for her Halloween party, so she took vegan Daiya cheese to the place and they used that instead for them!
      Happy Halloween!

  3. I love this post soooo much, and I about died laughing at Kiki’s comment above! Hahaha. Too funny. I promise that I am also NOT a creepy 40-year-old man pretending to be a 16-year-old blogger. I’m reaaaaal, so I can also tell you that you are so cute! I also hope you post more pictures, because it’s fun to see the person behind the blog. 😀

    Btw, love the cookie recipe! I don’t have a single vegan cookbook. I really should change that.

  4. Pingback: Rolling on the River | The Adventures of VEGirl

  5. juliakatz1996 says:

    I’m a vegan too and my friend bought me that book for my birthday and I hated everything I made in it. The recipes were too complicated and ingredients were too expensive. But I loved Their ideas, they could be used in any recipe. I bought You Wo’nt believe it’s Vegan, and all the recipes are great!

  6. Pingback: (no subject) |

  7. Pingback: Oh Baby, Those are Some Good Buns |

  8. Pingback: Babycakes Mint Icebox Cake Review |

Leave a Reply

