Milk: Cows or Coconuts?

So, I found a new non-dairy milk yesterday. It was on sale (bonus!), so I even got my mom to buy it. It was two-quart container of coconut milk.

Of the three options of coconut milk, I bought the unsweetened variety, as opposed to the original and vanilla flavors. I like to sweeten it myself with stevia, to suit my own preferences. Coconut has some great health benefits, and there are only 50 calories per cup of milk (albeit there are also 50 calories from fat– aka completely fat). At first taste (straight up), it didn’t really taste like much of anything. My mom described it as “milk with a coconut aftertaste”, but honestly, I couldn’t really detect the coconut flavor. This lack of overpowering flavor make unsweetened coconut milk perfect for baking, cereal, or anywhere else you would use cow’s milk.

My little sister (the hot cocoa queen) tells me it is divine in hot cocoa. But I wanted to give it a go with some quick cereal. I know many kids my age (and frankly, many adults, too) need quick food due to their busy schedules. People often complain that eating vegan is too time consuming, and takes lots of cooking time. However, the following should show otherwise:

Yup! Cereal… fast cereal. Here’s what I did:

Poured dry oats (gluten-free) into a bowl and topped with milk.

Then I sliced banana into the bowl, and topped with some creamy peanut butter, and coconut butter.

And you just know I went back to the kitchen for more peanut butter and banana. Elvis love! Basically my breakfast was just pimped up muesli. You can personalize, too! Just use your favorite milk, fruit, nut or nut butter, and you are set to go.

What is your favorite non-dairy milk?

This entry was posted in cereal, coconut, food review, no-bake, nut butter, oats, On-the-run "recipe", sugar-free. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Milk: Cows or Coconuts?

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Oh I use this, too! It is good, but sometimes I like a milk that tastes REALLy coconutt-y… But overall, My fav is almond milk

  2. Stefanie says:

    My favorite is almond milk. I, too, prefer unsweetened milk but will buy sweetened varities sometimes. That coconut milk sounds interesting.

  3. I love unsweetened soymilk now, I sure was not used to it before.

    I have used coconut milk for mostly making curries (Thai) and it comes out lovely! Have you tried it?

    I have tried rice milk once and have not developed the taste for it yet.

  4. Kiki says:

    I like Pacific Foods organic almond milk, although I’ve been eying that coconut milk at the grocery store for a while now and may try it soon. Hooray for fast vegan food!

  5. BitterSweet says:

    That coconut beverage is awesome! But I think my current favorite is chocolate hazelnut milk- It makes for the most amazing instant hot cocoa!

  6. I love plain, raw oats with milk and toppings! I had that for a snack the other day, actually.

    I’ve tried the coconut milk… it’s actually not my favorite. It tastes like watered-down coconut milk, which it basically is. Not much flavor in my opinion. My favorite is Almond Breeze Unsweetened Vanilla–the refrigerated carton. There actually is a difference in taste between the refrigerated and shelf-stable cartons!

    • oh, and by “milk” I definitely mean almond milk, haha. It’s just the only milk I drink, so I forget to specify sometimes. šŸ˜€

      • VEGirl says:

        Yeah, I know what you mean! I hate saying “non-dairy milk”– it makes it seem alien-ish. Generally I will just say “milk” (even though I drink soy, almond, rice, coconut, basically any type! Well, except for cows and goats and sheep, obv.). Many people know I’m vegan, and it’s just so much easier and I hope it gently shows people that veganism includes all those familiar foods many are used to!
        VEGirl

  7. Oh love coconut milk. My favorite non-dairy liquid of choice followed by hemp. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

