Try. This. Now.

Get ready for another match made in heaven!

I think pancakes are a canvas, and I am the artist (an overused metaphor, but stay with me). Pancakes are plain and tend to be boring until you add a splash of color with fruit, a spiral with some syrup perhaps, or a thick layer of nut butter. Enter my newest paint discovery:

Ever heard of date syrup? And remember my eternal love to coconut butter? Combine them and, oh man, it doesn’t get any better than that! It’s a messy mess, but that is how I like it.

Anyways, I would have had this post published yesterday, but I was in the car for the better part of the day! I am currently at my grandmother’s house, and enjoying all it has to offer. I’m returning home Monday evening, but hopefully I’ll be back to you before then!

Today’s Question:

Have you tried date syrup?

I received a jar of it, from my mom, for Christmas last year (can any foodies relate to this? You love food and suddenly that’s what everyone gives to you! Not that I’m complaining!). The taste is very striking, so I’ve only used it in certain circumstances. But it’s deep, rich, almost molasses like flavor makes it really yummy paired with dark chocolate flavors. It’s also great in granola bars, on pancakes, with nut butters, and with coconut butter :).

This entry was posted in coconut, no-bake, nuts/seeds and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Try. This. Now.

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Never tried date syrup, but it looks gorgeous on your pancakes!! I agree, pancakes are a blank canvas-this morning I made grain-free, chocolate-mixed barry cakes…took em in the plane with me 🙂 Security did Not take them away!

    • VEGirl says:

      Choco-berry? I love that! Haha, when I flew to Washington DC and NYC on group tour in June, I took pancakes, too. Someone told me before we reached security that food wasn’t allowed on the plane, and I was so scared that all the extra snacks I had brought for the 5 days ways from home would be confiscated (this was my first time flying, and I knew nothing of the rules)! Luckily, that person was WRONG, and my pancakes, homemade GF granola bars, etc, were allowed to stay. Aww, good times, good times.
      VEGirl

  2. Kiki says:

    Haha, pancakes are my life basically. Last week I used part chickpea flour in my normal recipe (thanks for your email back about the chickpea flour, btw) and it made the pancakes so fluffy that I’m totally hooked.

    I’ve never tried date syrup, but it looks super yummy!

  3. Eimear Rose says:

    That syrup look delish! I’ve seen it in my health food store but I usually buy brown rice syrup. I must try the date stuff. Unfortunately I can’t buy coconut butter here in the UK, but I did make some a week or so ago, it tastes nice but it’s a bit gritty (I didn’t want to blow up my food processor!). I wish people would buy me foodie gifts! I have a long list for when my brother in law goes to New York in Feb.

  4. can you believe i’ve never made pancakes before?? (lol….what’s wrong with me?) i would LOVE me some date syrup though. i eat dates like they’re candy 🙂

  5. I have seen date syrup before, but never tried it. Sounds like something I would love since I love dates ; )

  6. I’ve never tried date syrup! But I do love coconut butter 🙂

  7. I just barely heard about date syrup a few days ago on someone else’s blog! It sounds pretty cool. I bet it’s great with coconut butter. 🙂 Your pancakes are b-e-a-utiful, btw. 🙂

Leave a Reply

