Raw Nut Butter Mania!

Continuing on the review of my Artisana Sample Package, I give you my thoughts on Raw Almond Butter.

The little squeeze packet (along with a super-ripe barlet pear) accompanied me on a super-duper awesome 20 mile bike ride a couple of weeks ago.

I really love these squeeze packets! They keep everything so clean! And they are apparently eco-friendly– on the reverse side of the packet, Artisana tells you it employs a buy-back program to offset the use of the packaging. I asked them to tell me more about the program (so I could share the knowledge!), and am currently waiting for them to email me back. Anyway, the squeeze packet made it perfect to toss in my knapsack. In fact, it was the pear that made a mess! It was so ripe that it started to fall apart on my stuff :(.

So, how did the raw almond butter taste? Well, it tasted like raw almonds, in a smooth and creamy form. Probably not my favorite in the nut butter bunch– and I am NOT bashing raw almonds. I love ’em, but I think I’ll stick with my roasted almond butter. The roasted flavor just can’t be beat! Normally I enjoy eating raisins with raw almonds, and it made me rather sad I couldn’t get any while still nine miles away from home ;). Also, I don’t know that almond butter is at its best with a over-ripe pear, either (an over-ripe pear that was starting to ferment, I might add. Happy hour time! LOL!).

On the other had, raw cashew butter is, dare I say, even better than the whole nut? This stuff is so velvety and creamy, with nutty undertones and a sweet flavor. I believe this butter could be paired with either sweet or savory. I didn’t really get a chance to try that though. I only had one squeeze pack, and didn’t really waste my time using it in anything (why would I do that?). I practically ate the whole packet straight up in two sittings– yeah, it’s that good!

Almonds and cashews have great health benefits, but I’ll let you find them out for yourself. I have to go watch the Tyra show and Oprah!

Today’s Question:

Do you tend to prefer nut/nut butters roasted or raw?

This entry was posted in almond butter, nut butter, nuts/seeds, raw and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Raw Nut Butter Mania!

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Hey I just came across your blog, and I love it!

    I tend to prefer raw nut butters because they tend to be a lot creamier!

  2. Stefanie says:

    I like both raw and roasted nut butters but usually just buy roasted. The raw nut butters are expensive but they are worth it when I can afford them.

  3. Pingback: Living the High Life | The Adventures of VEGirl

  4. VegGirl,

    I usually make nut butter at home, as I have yet to find a right product that I like. I have to try this one though as I have not so far before judging it.

    I like roasted nut butter taste better than raw.

  5. I prefer roasted almond butter over raw, too. I also wasn’t crazy about the raw almond butter; however, I must agree about the cashew butter! That stuff is amazing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

