Cinnamon and (Pecan) Butter Toast

Errr…. pancakes. Time for numero uno fiesta of nut butter reviews (and that right there is the extent of my Spanish)!

When I had first opened up the pecan butter jar to give it a taste, sent to me by Artisana as part of my sample box— I honestly wasn’t sure what I thought about the taste. So it sat in the fridge for a while I happily consumed my walnut butter, cacao bliss, etc.

Fast forward to the other day, when I got hungry and went to the kitchen to make some pancakes as snack (yes, I eat pancakes as a snack). As I was adding cinnamon to the batter for a bit of flavor, my “dash” turned into a “pile”. Oops, I thought, then: hey, I bet pecan butter would be perfect with super cinnamon pancakes! Turns out it is good…. like, really good.

Cinnamon pancakes with pecan butter smeared atop.

The pancakes are just pancake bread with cinnamon and stevia in the batter!

Though pecans, a type of nut, are high in fat and calories, they pack in a lot of nutrition. Besides, if you are extremely active or have a high metabolism, calorie dense foods are an important component of the diet. Extremely active people like me 🙂 In fact, studies have shown that including certain amounts of nuts in your diet do not cause weight gain.

Pecans have a valuable contribution to a healthy diet, as do other nuts and seeds. They have the ability to lower LDL (“bad”) cholesterol, contain over 19 vitamins and minerals, and host phytochemicals that protect against disease, including heart disease, diabetes, and cancer.

Pecans are also high in zinc, which helps the body generate testosterone and is essential for men’s health. One oz. of pecans contains 4 grams of protein and 2 grams of fiber, as well as contributing a good dose of magnesium, iron,  potassium, and B vitamins.

Find out more about this nut from the source of the above information.

My verdict: The pecan butter was very yummy in the right circumstances, and it has a host of health benefits. But would I buy it out of my own pocket? It depends, as pecans have never really been my favorite. The butter tastes like ground pecans with a bit of sweetness included from the cashews– which isn’t bad, just not my favorite in the sample box I received. My folks loved it, mostly because they like pecans more than I do.

Today’s Question:

Do you like pecans?

This entry was posted in food review, nut butter, nutritional info, nuts/seeds and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cinnamon and (Pecan) Butter Toast

  1. Monica says:

    I don’t have a ton of experience with pecans as far as I can remember, but I DO know that pecan pie is delicious! Otherwise on their own they don’t really excite me all that much…I prefer cashews and brazil nuts!

  2. I have been a huge pecan lover, but I do like them. But I prefer almonds and Brazil nuts 🙂 Though I love Artisana products.

  3. Pingback: Living the High Life | The Adventures of VEGirl

  4. Love love love pecans. They are probably one of my favorite nuts, next to cashews and macadamias. 🙂

Leave a Reply

