Chocolate and Coffee

A heavenly and addictive match, eh?

Lately we have been talking all about making you own bars, with the first on the list being Larabars. Below is a recipe for a bite that will give you a run for your money. Even my dad’s eyes popped with pleasure as he chewed on the treat. (That is really saying something, as my dad is someone who roasts his own coffee beans, knows the difference between every variety, and is overall very particular about his brew. Personally, I don’t drink coffee).

PS: I have heard your written calls for bars you would like to see homemade. I have a list with ingredient lists, brands, the whole nine yards. They will all come in due time, I hope. Also, keep on telling me what bars you would like to have homemade! 🙂

Espresso Fudge Bites
Gluten/wheat-free, vegan, fruit-sweetened, no-bake

1/4 cup gluten-free rolled oats
1/4 cup walnuts
1/4 cup packed dried dates
1 tablespoon raisins (optional)
1-2 tablespoons cocoa powder (use a good, dark one– or include unsweetened bakers chocolate for some deep chocolate love)
1 teaspoon roasted coffee beans

Dump all ingredients into the food processor and flip the switch! Allow everything to mince itself up well– the coffee beans will leave some big chunks, though (that makes for crunchy coffee bites in you bar :)). Form the raw “dough” into balls or bars. Enjoy with tea or coffee, as a snack, or with as part of a meal spread.

Printable Recipe

This entry was posted in chocolate, dried fruit, no-bake, nuts/seeds and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate and Coffee

  1. Ooh, I make bars like these all the time but I never thought of adding coffee beans! I’ll have to try that tomorrow.

  2. Kiki says:

    I’ve recently discovered my love for coffee, so I may have to try these one day soon! Yummy.

  3. dannibazaar says:

    These are insane. They remind me of those coffee jocalat larabars, but better. Such a great recipe, thanks for sharing! Would you mind if I put the recipe on your blog, linked back to this page?

Leave a Reply

