Coconut Butter: A Love Story

After reading so many stellar reviews of Artisana Coconut Butter, I finally sucked up my pride and bought some at the natural food store last Saturday (when I biked for my fudge babies). I practically felt the flames lick my hands as my wallet burned, having forked over the necessary money. Poor Mr. Wallet– he’s been abused so much!

Well, Mr. Wallet is just going to have to suck up his own pride, because I am completely in love with this stuff! At first I was on the fence about the taste, but now I have gone over to the coconut side. I’ve fallen head over heels! It’s just so intensely… coconutty (f0r lack of a better word). So rich and buttery, coconut butter’s taste is divine both on its own and paired with other foods.

So without further ado, here are a few ways I have thoroughly enjoyed my coconut butter (CB). Oh what the heck, how about a list? Here are six ways I have so far enjoyed CB!

1. Use in conjunction with peanut butter (on toast, tortillas, fruit, a spoon, etc.). Trust me on this one. For once creating a love triangle is actually recommended!

2. Add some CB to your next peanut butter and jelly sandwich (or tortilla roll-up!). Consider using Pancake Bread.

3. Make a banana hammock using coconut butter. Banana and coconut make for a great flavor combo!

Above: banana hammock with CB, oats, raisins, ground ginger, and ground cinnamon.

4. Heat it up REAL hot (I figured out it tastes extra buttery that way), and use it in hot cereal. I used it in gluten-free oatmeal, but I’ll bet any hot cereal would work nicely. You could blend it in, or do what I did and sprinkle little blobs around in the bowl than just eat them on their own with a bit of oatmeal. πŸ˜€

5. Use as a spread on fruit. I have had excellent results using peaches and nectarines with CB. Who knew? It’s delish!

6. Just tonight, I used it as a topping for mostly-corn-free corn bread (it used millet and had the addition of fresh corn kernels). Is there anything this man named Coconut Butter can’t do?

Correct answer: No

Disclaimer: This is not an exhaustive list, I’m sure I’ll find more ways to enjoy my dear Mr. Coconut Butter! Also, I bought this Artisana product with my own money. I was not given free samples or paid to write this review (although if they would like to send me some free coconut butter, I am not at all opposed!).

Question: Do you like coconut? What is your favorite way to use it (provided you like it)?

Me: coconut isn’t always on my radar, but when I taste it every once in a while, I am reminded how much I like it! Just like now with the CB. I used to liked Almond Joys a lot, although I though they were super sweet, even as a kid. And that was before I became more sensitive to sweet stuff! Last year I actually made a good allergy-friendly almond joy. Where did I put that recipe…..?

This entry was posted in coconut, food review, suggested uses. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Coconut Butter: A Love Story

  1. Someday, it will become legal to marry coconut butter. When that day comes, you can expect to see many CCK-Coconut children running around ;). I can only hope that they will look half as beautiful as your banana hammock. (And yes, that sentence sounds strange on many levels!)

    • VEGirl says:

      If that story came true, it would beg a novel of it’s own– well, you would have to write one about your experience! I can see the cover now: little children with coconut heads running around, and you eating your husband.

  2. The banana hammock looks great!! And we love coconut butter!!! Sometimes we just eat it straight out of the jar πŸ˜‰

  3. Chelsea says:

    I often use coconut milk in curries, not to mention coconut rice!

    I haven’t had a chance to try coconut butter yet though, I’ll have to pick some up so I can make a banana hammock for myself; mmm!

  4. Monica says:

    I, too, fell in love with coconut butter a couple of months ago when my Dad brought me some from NY…which unfortunately means that, now that I’ve finished it, it’s a little difficult to get considering I live in Spain and they don’t sell it here! T_T But yes, CB is amazing with PB. I love Chick O Sticks so I guess it’s a given that CBPB would be awesome.

    • VEGirl says:

      No coconut butter in Spain?! What a crime! Maybe you could make your own! You know, buy up some coconuts and blend in a food processor or blender maybe? I wonder is Artisana would disclose their recipes to you…..
      VEGirl

      • Monica says:

        No. coconut. butter. : [ At least, not that I’ve seen anywhere! And I’ve been to quite a few health food stores and ‘specialty’ stores…I actually have been considering doing just that with coconuts since I have a VitaMix…hmm…
        By the way I just wanted to mention that your blog is completely inspiring and you’re a really smart girl. I’m 16 and I want to blog someday as well, but I never seem to know what to write! Hah. Anyways, you’re totally awesome!

  5. Namaste Gurl says:

    Mmmm, I claim that coconut butter is my “long, lost love”– In a jar, that is :)! I finally dished out $10.99 a month or so ago for that glorious love- in- a jar and boy was I not guilty for it! It definitely served its justice on my taste buds πŸ™‚

    I do hope I get some free samples of that stuff as it’s quickly running out and my love it pretty dang expensive πŸ™‚

    Nice banana hammock, by the way! I love to ice mufffins with coconut butter or just dollop it on pipping, hot oats– or just have it with a pita or bread. Yum.

  6. Namaste Gurl says:

    I just made a banana hammock this afternoon with the lovely coconut butter (melted it in sun over afternoon), however mine looks like a banana hammock with coconut butter “no limits”…as in there’s much too much coconut butter πŸ™‚

    I really have no self-control when it comes to coconut butter, what can you say, it’s beyond amazing πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Ingredients for Success (The Need for Energy- Part 2) | The Adventures of VEGirl

  8. Pingback: Living the High Life | The Adventures of VEGirl

  9. Pingback: Try. This. Now. | The Adventures of VEGirl

Leave a Reply

