The Ride Was SO Worth It.

I really love riding my bike, and I had the itch to go somewhere today. Yesterday I did squat (aka absolutely nothing. Well, except to take a mid morning nap, sleeping straight through my appointment to pick up my retainer at the orthodontist– it’s a super cute watermelon one– only to have my mother get called asking why I wasn’t there and have her reschedule it for later). Anyway, today I rode my bike the 19 or so mile round trip to-and-from the neighboring town (where the natural food store is!) to pick up some ingredients. All the ingredients had a theme. That theme was that they were all a key ingredient to one or more of Chocolate-Covered Katie‘s recipes. When I got home with my haul, I was super DUPER hungry, so I pulled out my recently purchased dried dates ad got to work making my first ever Chocolate Fudge Babies.

Oh. My. Gosh.

All the raving reviews were true after all. Why did it take me long to make these? Into my food processor went pitted dates, walnuts, and dark cocoa powder. And the result was little chocolate balls jam packed with enough fudge-y-ness to last a lifetime (that’s what she said! tehehe. K, that was lame.)

And, as though the delicious taste weren’t enough, I get three extra entries in Miss Katie’s latest giveaway. If you’ve never been over to her blog, I suggest you check it out. She is one awesome lady! I’ve also made some her other healthfully simple recipes in the past days (no pictures though, sorry!). I whipped up some Banana Butter with nutmeg and raisins in honor of our reborn blender (long story short, over the summer we lost the blender blade and the replacement one my mom ordered arrived). I made a banana butter and berry sandwich for lunch with that. Then a few days ago I put together a peanut-butter-and-jelly Banana Hammock. (Um, do I get 6 more entries for the last two recipes??)

So, have you made any of Katie’s Recipes? If not, you should. You should also enter her latest giveaway of Larabars. Actually, no, I take that back. I really want to win!!!

Question:

What’s the best recipe you’ve ever made?

This entry was posted in Blog related, chocolate, no-bake, nuts/seeds, sugar-free. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Ride Was SO Worth It.

  1. Oh VeGirl, I have tears in my eyes, you are so kind. I don’t deserve such kind words. And those photos of yours!! Seriously, can you teach me? I have the expensive camera, but my pictures are still lousy, so it must be me. Do you use manual settings, or just auto?
    Final question: is there anything you’re not good at? 😉 😉

  2. Fudge Babies are so good! I have yet to make the original version with walnuts or cashews, but I’ve for sure played around and made my own. It’s fun. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Coconut Butter: A Love Story | The Adventures of VEGirl

  4. Pingback: Hoiday Recipe Round-Up |

Leave a Reply

