Need a Quick Breakfast? Try This.

WARNING: the photos in this post were taken on the run, and using flash, making them extremely ugly. So ugly, in fact, I didn’t even bother putting watermarks on them, or putting them through the retouching process (wouldn’t have done any good, anyway). You can steal them, please do!

Off on the run this morning (early for me!), I needed a quick breakfast. What to make? Sometimes, what with being gluten-free, vegan, and wanting to reduce my plastic usage, I get frustrated. Why can’t I just have convenience foods??!! If they ever make a sugar-free GF pop tart packaged in paper, I will probably fall to my knees, sobbing.

Okay, enough drama. This girl gotta eat. And boy, did she! Even if you’re not in a hurry, this “recipe” (so simple I can hardly call it that!) is so utterly delicious. Granted, it’s not the prettiest, and definitely not very photogenic (read: looks like a pile of, oh, you know), it is nonetheless yummy in the tummy. Although, be warned, you may need to take a trip to the bathroom to wash your face and brush your teeth after this messy one! So just factor that in when preparing it. It’s totally worth it.

Um, VEGirl, what is that?

Um, only the most delicious thing in the world. Yeah, the picture is ugly, but SO WHAT. It tastes just like liquid fudge.

Chocolate Heaven in a Tortilla (if you have a better name, let me know!)

Ingredients:

Tortilla
Banana
Almond butter (or other preferred nut butter)
Cocoa powder

Heat a tortilla or two (I use brown rice tortillas by Food For Life). Meanwhile, gather your ingredients. Place the heated tortilla on a plate, and, using a fork, mash banana with a blob of almond butter and spoonful of cocoa powder. No measurements here people, just taste it as you go and add more or less of the different ingredients to suit your fancy! Roll it all up or eat it like a big piece of soft toast. Eat and get your butt out of the house!

I know, its blurry and looks like poo. Just humor me here, k? This really did the trick for me this morning. I split one banana among the two tortillas, and mashed both halves up with my cocoa and almond butter. As we all know, I am infatuated with almond butter. I ate one rolled up like a burrito, and then ate all the filling off the other one. The tortilla was all lonely then, so I made some more filling :). It all really hit the spot and got me out of the house in a flash.

Until next time, friends!

This entry was posted in almond butter, breakfast, chocolate, no-bake, On-the-run "recipe". Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Need a Quick Breakfast? Try This.

  1. Looks good…nice and quick! And we have been loving almond butter too lately. I tend to go through phases of eating it all the time to not eating it. Not sure why.

    • VEGirl says:

      I’m the same way! I’m on my almond butter obsession phase right now. But I’m close to the end of my last jar (and they aren’t on sale right now!), so that will probably be the end of that soon. 😦 very sad 😦
      VEGirl

  2. This sounds awesome. I definitely want to try it, and don’t worry about the pictures. I think they look awesome, but even if they didn’t you know what the say: the ugliest food often tastes the best! haha.

Leave a Reply

