Basil and Banana?

I will admit, I generally stick to simple things– no salt, minimal spices. What makes simple flavors great is bringing them together to create brand new concoctions that blow people’s mind. If you’ve ever seen the movie Ratatouille, you’ll understand why, among other reasons, I love the movie so darn much! We shouldn’t stick to the garbage that fast food chains try to feed us! We should break out, discover real food, and create wonderful emotions and pleasures with the simplest of flavors.

Before going to bed one night a few days back, I thought of one of the many unique and possibly disastrous sounding flavor combos that love to pop into my head. Basil and banana? How could that possibly work? I guess you never know until you try, and I was powerless to stop the possible ruining of my breakfast. Luckily, my crazy ideas seems to work a lot of the time. I guess that’s what makes a good chef!

Banana-Basil Pancakes
Wheat-free, gluten-free, vegan, corn-free, fat-free, refined-sweetener free

My recent obsession with pancakes drove me to use this combo in pancake form, but experiment with muffins, scones, cakes, etc. When you do, report back to me!

1/4 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup garbanzo flour
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon seaweed powder or a pinch salt
1 small banana, mashed
1/2 teaspoon vinegar
1/2 cup water, plus more as needed
2 heaping tablespoons freshly chopped basil leaves

Heat a pan that will desist sticking over medium heat. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, stir together the flours, baking soda, and seaweed powder or salt. In a separate bowl, thoroughly fork mash the banana, before adding the vinegar and water.

Incorporate the flour mixture into the banana mixture, to create a smooth batter (no need to worry about over mixing– there’s no gluten!). If you like, add a bit more water to create your desired batter consistency. I personally like to thin the batter a bit more.

Pour about a 1/4 cup of batter into the hot pan, and cook until you see bubbles and the edges of the pancake begin to dry out. Flip, and finish cooking on the other side. Repeat with the remaining batter.

Makes 6-8 pancakes

Printable Recipe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Basil and Banana?

  1. Wow! Basil and banana sounds like an interesting combination! I’m going to have to try combining both flavors soon.

  2. you are so creative!! so would these be savory, topped with hummus; or would they be sweet, topped with maple syrup and peanut butter? haha.

    • VEGirl says:

      Kelsey,
      I’d say they are more on the sweet side. Generally the banana is enough sweetness for me, but any other sweetener (stevia, maple syrup, agave) could do the trick. I don’t know about savory (!?) Try that out for me, will ya?

  3. Jennifer says:

    I am so excited to find your recipe section. My son has a ton of food allergies. The one thing he doesn’t seem to be allergic to is gluten. (go figure) But he is allergic to milk, eggs, soy & peanuts. So I’m always on the lookout for tasty foods that are “safe” for him to eat. I can hardly wait to try this recipe, and your others as well.

  4. Pingback: Winning Combo: Corn and Raspberries |

Leave a Reply

