A Match Made in Heaven

Yesterday, I missed out on the biggest event of the year. Ok, I’m kidding, but I was super disappointed that I was too busy to go out with the family to pick wild blackberries. Fortunately, they hardly made a dent in the crop, so I will be going on the next trip!

On the up side, I get to enjoy juicy fresh blackberries without having done a lick of picking work! We are going to make jam with some, too!

I get to enjoy the fruit of their labors! (Pun intended)

Now, not to imply that I don’t enjoy eating them straight out of the bowl (I totally do), but I thought these blackberries deserved a good mate before they found their way into my stomach.

Meet Romeo.

He made an appearance at breakfast– Juliet Black Berry took to him at once. And so did I.

GF pancakes topped with (stevia and cinnamon sweetened) smashed blackberry “jam” with a drizzle of tahini. The smashing made the berries release their juice and it soaked into the pancakes. HEAVEN. Also consumed: half a banana (the pile of yellow stuff in the first pancake photo), and a couple more small pancakes with a bit more tahini and blackberry mixture.

I know it’s Wednesday (one day late), but consider this a part of Hug-A-Fruit month.

Question:

What are your favorite pair of flavors?

This entry was posted in breakfast, fruit, photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Match Made in Heaven

  1. Hahaha I’m going to have to change my post now… ’cause your photos are just too yummy to not include! 😉

  2. tummyfull says:

    Hey VEGirl! First of all I want to say that I discovered your blog about a week ago and I love it! And I’m with you on how awesome blackberries are. My favourite thing to do with them, other than eat them plain, is to make a peanut butter or almond butter sandwich with bananas and shmooshed blackberries in the middle, with a drizzle or agave, if I want it sweeter. so good! you should try it with some gluten free bread.

    • VEGirl says:

      Tummyfull,
      You’ll never guess what I just finished eating!I made an open face almond butter, banana, stevia-sweetened mooshed blackberry sandwich. Really yummy! So nice to hear from you and I’m glad you like the blog!
      VEGirl

  3. Pingback: Kisses and Hugs « Chocolate-Covered Katie

  4. Pingback: Try. This. Now. | The Adventures of VEGirl

  5. Pingback: Winning Combo: Corn and Raspberries |

Leave a Reply

