Breakfast of (Vegan, Environmentalist, Gluten-Free) Champions

The time has come to talk of my favorite breakfast. I have eaten this almost every morning for months. I kid you not.

I know some of you eat different stuff every day, and I don’t intentionally stick to the same foods. It just happens. So, what is so great about this breakfast???? What is it??? *Drum roll, please…*

MUSH! Otherwise known as Cream of (fill in a grain)-– it’s basically cream of wheat but, ya know, without the wheat. Choosing from the bounty of gluten-free grains, you can create a hot cereal either thick or thin, creamy or grainy, and flavored any way you want. I present to you:

THE HOT CEREAL TUTORIAL

Step #1: Choose a grain, and rinse it clean;

  • Brown rice
  • Quinoa
  • Buckwheat (or use kasha and skip the toasting step)
  • Millet
  • Amaranth
  • (insert your favorite grain)

Now, toast than grain in the oven or on the stove until it is nice and toasty tan. Store it in an airtight container.

Step #3: Cook it!

When you’re ready to eat, use a measuring cup and scoop out your desired amount of cereal— I generally go for a 1/3 cup, or 1/4 cup if I’m adding a ton of things to it (like massive amounts of fruit). Grind your roasted grain into a powder (as grainy or fine as you like– the finer the powder the faster it will cook–  in a spice grinder, vitamix, or food processor) and combine it in a pan with water.  If you like firm cereal, use 4 parts water to one part grain. If you like a slightly more wet cereal, use 5 parts water to one part grain. If you want a wet pudding consistency, use 6 parts water to one part grain. Every grain is different so experiment and find what works for you.

With the pot over high heat, stir your grain/water mixture until it thickens and begins to bubble (while your stirring, that way it is emulsified). If desired, add a pinch of salt or a 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon seaweed powder (ground sea vegetables– very nutritious and has a salty flavor. Check your local retailer or online for different varieties). Once the cereal begins bubbling, slap a lid on it and reduce the heat to low. Depending on how grainy it is, it should cook at least five minutes. Longer if desired. I recommend taking it off the heat and allowing it to sit for a minute to loosen any cereal that may have stuck to the bottom of the pot.

Step #4: Scoop your cereal into a pretty bowl (’cause we all know that food taste better in pretty dishes) and enjoy! Add cinnamon, raisins, or fresh fruit to your cereal or enjoy as is. Use any variation on my list or that you think up to spice things for an exciting cereal every day.

Variations:

  • While cooking, add a sweetener (I recommend stevia), flavor (such as spices, cocoa powder,  carob powder, or extract for flavor.
  • Cook dried fruit in to the cereal  (such as raisins).


Heaven on a spoon. Chocolate flavored Cream of Rice (stevia and cocoa powder), topped with purred apricot and raspberries, raisins, and cinnamon.

Plain Cream of Rice (cooked with some seaweed powder– I find it imparts a slightly buttery taste; very pleasant). Topped with fresh peach chunks, raisins, and cinnamon.

Happy breakfasting!

This entry was posted in breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Breakfast of (Vegan, Environmentalist, Gluten-Free) Champions

  1. Pingback: Bite for a Bullet | The Adventures of VEGirl

  2. Pingback: Pasado and Pancakes | The Adventures of VEGirl

  3. Pingback: Coconut Butter: A Love Story | The Adventures of VEGirl

  4. Eimear Rose says:

    Hi VEGirl:)
    I just started following your blog a few weeks back and found this recipe via your quinoa pancakes that I had bookmarked. I MUST try this! I think toasted cream of brown rice sounds delish, especially coming into the autumn.
    I’m really glad I found your blog- I’m vegan and going through tests for what’s bothering my tum (gluten seems to be a problem) and I don’t like eating sugar, so your recipes are just what I’m looking for.

  5. Hey there 🙂
    I just found your blog and I’m so glad I did! I really really love it! I’m adding you to my blogroll asap. By the way, I’m not on a gluten-free diet but I try to avoid it when I can (because too much gluten makes me bloat like crazy and gives me a rash…) but anyway, I just wanted to say that I make similar cereal to this one and it’s soooo good 🙂 If you go see “recipes” on my blog I have a chocolate millet pudding based on this idea.
    Have a nice day,
    Nicky

  6. Pingback: Body, We Have a Problem |

  7. Pingback: Scrounging Around |

  8. Pingback: WIAW |

  9. Pingback: Chocolate Pudding! |

  10. What a terrific post! I am securely in the I-have-the-same-thing-for-breakfast-everyday camp, and this is a way for me to change it up a bit. I posted this to my facebook page to share, because there are a lot of gluten-free vegans out there who would just love it. Hey, we’re all looking for new ideas! Thanks! 🙂 Tina.

  11. Pingback: Cereal Killer |

  12. Pingback: Not yo’ Ordinary Grapes |

Leave a Reply

