Cheery Cherry Huggin’

*As a quick aside: LAPTOPS ROCK! Right now I am at my grandmother’s house with the family laptop, and I can plug into the internet with all my photos, memory, and information at my fingertips! I wrote this post in the car as a document, and transferred it here. So cool. So cool.*

Oh, I am rejoicing! It’s Hug-A-Fruit Month over at Katie’s blog.

I’ll start with a little story first: with the warm weather moving in, nature also brings fruit flies, multiplying by the hundreds, into our house. They love our fruit, our compost, and anything that accidentally spills. Now we’re trying to withhold their food supply by storing cut foods in the fridge instead of the counter, and constantly having a lid on the counter top compost bowl.  Fast forward to a few days ago, and picture me digging onto a cantaloupe slice. Fruit flies were buzzing around me, wanting a nibble of the sweetness. It suddenly hit me.

I am a human fruit fly.

It makes sense—I love almost every fruit under the sun. And summer is the best because of all the fruits!! Hug-a-fruit month is so incredibly perfect.

The human fruit fly is SO happy.

Because I love so many fruits, I’ve decided that I will post a couple different photos every week through the month. And because my family and I went cherry picking yesterday, I knew exactly what fruit I would start with.

Succulent and sweet.

They tasted so amazing I could just about eat them off the tree.

The mother lode. I love me some cherries!

What are ya waitin’ for? Go grab a fruit and get your hug on!

This entry was posted in fruit, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cheery Cherry Huggin’

  1. Gorgeous, beyond-gorgeous photos, VeGirl!
    Just curious: Did you take a photography course? Your photography skills are amazing.

    • VEGirl says:

      Hey Katie,
      First of all, you are so flattering :). No, I have never taken a photography course. I DID buy a food photography book, but I haven’t read it very thoroughly. A school teacher gave us a crash course in basic photography, too. Mostly, though, I look at others peoples photos and teach myself. That’s how I like it 🙂

      Happy Hug-a-fruit month! Oh, and happy fourth of July!
      -Vegirl-

  2. BitterSweet says:

    You’re so lucky to have access to cherry trees! They’re rather scarce around here; the nearest U-pick is at least an hour drive in each direction. I’m so jealous of your sweet bounty!

  3. Pingback: Fruit: Both Wild and Domestic | The Adventures of VEGirl

Leave a Reply

