Flying Apron Bakery Review

Back in March, I died and went to heaven.

WHA????
Allow me to define heaven. And dying, for that matter

Heaven = Flying Apron Bakery in Seattle, WA.
Dying = eating the delicious gluten-free, vegan, refined-sugar free, whole grain and bean flour products that tasted delicious.

Who knew heaven tasted so good….. or that cameras were allowed inside!

All gluten-free and vegan! I was awed by the choices– I haven’t been to a bakery since going gluten-free 5 years ago.

Apricot thumbprint cookie. I remember little sis being in LOVE with this, though I wasn’t much of a fan.

This cupcake was more my style. With a great springy, fluffy texture, its perfect crumb boasted rich dark chocolate in every bite. The frosting was dreamily whipped, and added a billowy effect to the cupcake.

Some things I didn’t eat but have pictures of:


In addition to sweet baked goods, bread, and drinks, Flying Apron has a small lunch menu. We ate the Italian mushroom Apron Pockets with Marinara Sauce  (my family’s fave)
(pictured below) and the Curried Indian Apron Pocket (My favorite!). The italian pocket was packed with mushrooms and herbs, with a dough pocket to hold it in. The indian one had curried root vegetables and spinach with a creamy coconut milk coating. The dough outer was so flavorful and pretty!

Since our poor tummies could only hold so much, we stocked up on bakery items to consume over the rest of our trip (we were holding up the line!). Other bakery delicacies consumed over the next days (that were not pictured):

Chocolate Chip Cookie: honestly, I wasn’t too impressed with this one. It was too fluffy, not the chewy texture I would have expected .It was also tooth-achingly sweet. Granted, my palate was being bombarded with sweet treats– it was my third day of hardly eating any vegetables and consuming WAY too much sugar and fat (I was extremely distraught about that, the time of this being the time when I had acknowledged I had an “eating disorder” and was attempting to recover).

Maple Pecan Muffin: This was my favorite, by far! This muffin was perfectly sweet (I don’t prefer too much sweetness in foods), with the exuberant notes of maple in every perfectly crumbed morsel. My grandma had a bite and was extremely impressed by the texture. It was out of this world! Chopped pecans added great flavor and a little crunch.

Ginger Currant Scone: Mommy’s fave! I loved it too- this scone, apart from just being an actual gluten-free scone (mom was ecstatic), had delicious taste to match the specialness. With a heavy ginger flavor (with not only ginger flavoring, but punches of the crystallized root!) was accented with the sweetness of dried currants. Presented artfully with a drizzled glaze on top, the bite on this baked good was dense– but lightly so.

Macaroons: Fluffy and coconutty, and chocolate coating, theses macaroons were at the top of my whole families list of favorites! You wouldn’t believe they contain no sugar or eggs. So delish.

Flying Apron House Bread: We bought two loaves of this bread to-go– wow, it’s probably the best bread I’ve ever tasted! It had a light yellow color, and was dense, but oh so flavorful!

Cinnamon bun: This one was WAY too sweet for me, but my mom LOVED it. I mean LOVED it.

Peanut Butter Jelly Chocolate Cupcake: Can you see why I got this one? It was a monster sized chocolate cupcake smeared with jelly and topped with peaks of peanut butter frosting. Heaven in every bite, the flavors paired perfectly together.

Russian tea cookie: Oh. My. Gosh. This cookie was certainly my second favorite (after the maple pecan muffin, of course). With a perfect shortbread cookie bit, and a rich buttery flavor, you really have to try this cookie to see what I mean. Seriously.

Wait, what’s that? You can’t make it to Seattle to sample Flying Apron’s crazy delicious baked goods?

Well, you don’t have to.

Because they have a baking book! With this book, you could bake for any discriminating gluten-eater vegan-hater and with one bite they would be at your knees begging for the recipe.*

My mom has tried to make the house bread. It didn’t turn out well– dry and crumbly. What did we do wrong?!?!? I’ve seen that some other people have had some trouble with the bread recipe. *sigh* I guess we’ll just have to visit the bakery again!

Last month I organized a vegan allergy-friendly bake sale that benefited River’s Wish Animal Sanctuary. I baked the ginger currant scones, maple pecan muffins, and macaroons to sell at a bake sale (along with a few other goodies) . We completely sold out, raising over one hundred dollars for the animals!

So what are you waiting for? Try some Flying Apron goodies!

*Results may vary

This entry was posted in food review, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flying Apron Bakery Review

  1. You are so cool!! I’m glad to have found your blog. I’m also homeschooled, I’m 16, and I eat a natural, unprocessed, mostly-vegan diet. Your blog is wonderful and I look forward to reading more. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Flying Apron Bakery Visits | The Adventures of VEGirl

Leave a Reply

